• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

SMB Backup Location

Status
Not open for further replies.

zSeriesGuy

Free User
Reaction score
I'm new to 3CX.
Running debian 3CX trying to set up backups to SMB share on Windows Server 2016.
I'm getting "cannot connect to SMB".

I have tried both hostname and IP address in the Network Path. Using /, not \.
I have my domain/username/password defined correctly. At least I think I do.
I am attempting the connection using a Windows domain admin-level account as a test. If I get it working, I'll switch to a non-admin account. So permissions should not be an issue.
smb://192.168.1.250/3CXBackups

Is there some apt install that needs to be done on the debian install for smb client support to the Windows Server? SMBV1 and SMBV2 appear to be enabled.

What am I missing? Any suggestions? Anyone have this working?

Have you confirmed you can access it via another Windows machine?

Yes. I can access it from my other domain-joined Windows machines.

Okay so from my local 3CX i cannot get at my SMB share on my Server 2016 Share.

I've got SMB1,2 and 3 on my windows server.

Tried with no credentials and new credentials via 3CX to no avail.

Well, that confirms it not my setup.

Ok so, if i do this, I get invalid Credentials.

If I do this:

I get an error logged in SERVER 2016

No error logged in Windows when I try the first authentication details.

You're getting further than me. Doesn't seem to matter what I put for domain/credentials, I get the "cannot connect to SMB".

Try a / at the end

With the '/' on the end, I don't get the cannot connect to SMB message.
But now it times out.
I get:
3CX Management console is not responding. This may be be a browser issue - Clear your browser cache, refresh and try again.

Im using firefox.

Try credentials like this:

Domain: empty
User: [email protected] OR domain\user
Pass: password