solution to being behind Symmetric NAT?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by vanDivX, Mar 19, 2007.

1. vanDivX

I am having trouble with one way voice and I keep getting these messages in Server Status: "StunClient::process: STUN failed to resolve external IP using server 80.239.235.209"

the problem I think is that I have 3CX PBX behind NAT router and 3CX soft phones as remote extensions (located on WAN in several locations) which are also all behind NAT router

as a layman I would have thought why can't I tell the PBX what my IP is so it can stop laboring trying to resolve it for god's sake, it is dynamic but really is static, it never changed in two or three years since I got that internet account setup and that's why I never used DynDNS service on it

I have forwardedthese ports to IP of 3CX PBX :

SIP - 5060 UDP
    STUN - 3478 UDP
    RTP - 9000-9007 UDP (for up to 4 simultaneous calls as in a conference call)

I think I have several options:

#1 - put 3CX winXP system in DMZ - not good especially when the system also runs security cameras in the house) plus it will be connected to PSTN landline

#2 - forget about remote extensions and register them with FWD or some other voip provider and then simply make SIP calls between the 'extensions' - may do this if option number 3 will not work out

#3 - I found my router has SER built in which is short for 'SIP Express Router' http://www.iptel.org/ser/using
    the router is WRT54GL flashed with DD WRT Voip firmware which contains this SIP server in it - under tab SIPatH it has the following info:

I am wondering if I could employ this SER to solve my problems with the external IP resolution and symmetric NAT, it can do Redirect and function as an Outbound Proxy and local Registrar Server, ho hum