Solved: Assistant not working with old PBX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Softsell, Aug 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this because it won't work with an older PBX?

    The version "4.X" was working fine,

    I am : "out of the office"

    This one fails to connect or login.

    Using IP, password, tunnel and port# all carried over from upgrade
     
  2. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    c'mon, throw me a freakin bone here.

    older version pbx new assistant... are they incompatible?

    i am sorry that i don't have much info to go on, but this is a basic question.
     
  3. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    The concept of the status (out of office, away etc.) was new in V9 of the PBX so the assistant wont work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,587
    Likes Received:
    253
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    You don't say what version of "old PBX" you are trying to use it with.
     
  5. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think it's version 8.0.x.x.x.x and the assistant was version 8.0.x.x.x.x
     
  6. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    'out of office' IS in the assist5ant v8.0.x. In case you didn't realize that.
     
  7. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    I uninstalled v9 and reinstalled v8 and it has the same problem. the PBX we have is definitely v8 and my phone is fine. WTF?
     
  8. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    3
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    Hi,
    I am sorry what is your issue? 5 Posts and you did not describe your problem.
    No, you can't use V9 Call Assistant with PBX V8. Neither you cant use PBX V9 with Call Assistant V8.
    Please Identify your problem and describe in detail what is your issue.
    Thanks and Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I thought my question was clear. And you did answer it! V9 assistant with v8pbx won't work.

    But now I uninstalled the call v9 assistant and installed v8 but it still won't work. Is there a file I have to delete somewhere to complete uninstall?
     
  10. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    67
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    Hi
    Please try to provide more details: is an internet/internet connection, is tunneled or not, how extension is configured on the PBX, what PBX log says, if Assistant's 3CXphone registers and works in the same configuration, PBX/Assistant/phone versions, and so on. Description you provided is quite confusing and not very helpful, for everybody.
    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    well, i am using an external setup. I am using the tunnel, (i am pretty sure i mentioned all this in the first post.) i have a GREAT connection, avg 2.0ms jitter and 30Mb/s -\/ -&- 3.0 /\ ---- all on v8.0 I don't know how assistant is connected, i didn't set it up. Phone IS working as i previously stated.

    what can i do?
     
  12. Softsell

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    sorry, my bad, someone told me the wrong password. But just so we are clear, the v9 assistant will NOT work v8 PBX, correct?
     
  13. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    3
    Re: Assistant not working with old PBX

    Hi,
    Alot of changes where done from V8 to V9. So V9 Call Assistant will not work with V8 PBX.
    Thanks and Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.