Solved: Checking voicemail for 4 digit extensions

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by star1, Aug 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    We recently upgraded to V9 SP1 (from v8 backup) and are setup to use 4 digit extensions since. Everything works until we try to check voicemail remotely or for a different extension.

    When we dial 9999 and press #, the system prompts for the extension number. We enter the extension, but the system only allows you to enter 3 digits for the and then cuts you off and says extension not found. I confirmed that the custom variable 'ENL' is set to 4. All throughout the system, it's correctly using 4 digits. We only have a problem when checking voicemail.

    Any help or workaround is appreciated.

    Thanks.
    Eric
     
  2. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Checking voicemail for 4 digit extensions

    I found a workaround, but it seems that it's a bug that should be fixed.

    The LoginVmail.vxml file located in the IVR directory inside the http directory (c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\3CX\Data\Http\Interface\ivr) contains the following:
    Code:
     <field name="ext_number_field">
          <grammar>#|[0-9|*]{3-3}</grammar>
    Based on the "3-3" it's hard coded to expect 3 digits even though our system is set to 4. I would think it should have the ENL variable set in there.

    I changed our file to read as follows and it works for us now:
    Code:
     <field name="ext_number_field">
          <grammar>#|[0-9|*]{4}</grammar>
    -Eric
     
  3. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    8
    Re: Checking voicemail for 4 digit extensions

    Hi Eric, from what I can see you had a 3digit PBX you made a backup (which had all entries / files / data and so on for 3 digits pbx) and you restored the same backup on a 4 digit pbx?
    Correct?
    Thanks and Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. star1

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Checking voicemail for 4 digit extensions

    Hi Michael,

    That's not actually the case. I was running 4 digit extensions on V.8. Everything was working well. To upgrade to V9, I took a backup of the 4 digit V8 PBX configuration, un-installed V8, installed V9 and then restored the 4 digit backup. As soon as I did that, the problem happened.

    -Eric
     
  5. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    8
    Re: Checking voicemail for 4 digit extensions

    Hi Eric, is it possible to send me your V8 Backup so I can replicate your issue - mb@3cx.com
    Thanks and Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    8
    Re: Checking voicemail for 4 digit extensions

    This issue is fixed - I just updated on this post - follow the link
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/bug-accessing-another-s-voicemail-box-16599.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.