Sometimes I hear audio, sometimes no! And busy lines

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by boden, Aug 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boden

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I have installed 3cx v9.0.13545.594
    I have two VOIP lines, and I use a 3cx software phone, as also a Linksys SPA-941

    I am having two problems

    1. Sometimes I do calls without any problems. But sometimes, when I call someone, I hear it ringing, but then, when it "connects" I do not hear anything (And the other one is also not hearing anything). Any ideas what could it be? This seems to happen also when someone calls me. I can't hear anything.

    2. Sometimes, when someone calls me, they get busy tone. But no one is using the phone in the office.

    I do not have to solve this!

    Any ideas?

    Juan
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    229
    If these are all problem from outside lines calling in, I would suspect that your router/firewall is blocking some of the ports used by 3CX. Have you run the Firewall Checker on the 3CX console under Settings?
     
  3. boden

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    I have a 3Com Gigabit Router with firewall. I run the firewall checker, and it passes every test.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    229
    Do you have another router you can try, that's the fastest way to see if your current one is the culprit? Can you disable any firewall settings? What about putting the 3CX PC on a DMZ?

    The busy condition that some callers reach implies that your 3Cx is not registered at that time or that there was no response when the call was sent to it. Because that is intermittent it is much harder to troubleshoot. If you can duplicate it, then check the 3CX logs to see if there is an entry showing a call attempt.

    Wireshark may also be the way to go. If you can insert it between your modem and router, make some calls, and then try again between the router and 3CX PC, it may indicate what isn't passing through.
     
  5. boden

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this helps to make a diagnosis?

    12:52:44.320 [MS105000] C:1.2: No RTP packets were received:remoteAddr=XXX.XXX.X.162:46172,extAddr=XXX.XXX.XXX.94:9000,localAddr=XXX.XXX.XXX.XX:9000
    12:52:43.945 [CM503008]: Call(1): Call is terminated
    12:52:30.648 [CM503007]: Call(1): Device joined: sip:XXX@proximo.iplannetworks.net:5060
    12:52:30.648 [CM503007]: Call(1): Device joined: sip:XXX@192.168.0.174:57923;rinstance=bfe9494313d99ab2
    12:52:30.601 [CM505003]: Provider:[53529301] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [] PBX contact: [sip:XXXXXX@XXX.XXX.XXX.94:5060]
    12:52:30.601 [CM503002]: Call(1): Alerting sip:XXXXXX@proximo.iplannetworks.net:5060
    12:52:24.726 [CM503025]: Call(1): Calling VoIPline:08004440800@(Ln.10003@53529301)@[Dev:sip:XXXXXX@proximo.iplannetworks.net:5060]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    229
    Some (all?) of the voice packets are not getting through. You need to "adjust" the settings (port forwarding/firewall) on the router or try a different router.
     
  7. boden

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let's see... This is what I have now

    For the firewall

    V # Name Protocol Start Port End Port ICMP Type Edit
    1 STUN TCP/UDP 3478 3478
    2 VOIP TCP/UDP 9000 9049
    3 3CX TCP/UDP 5080 5090
    4 VOIP3 TCP/UDP 5060 5079
    5 Emule1 TCP/UDP 25375 25375
    6 Emule3 TCP/UDP 4661 4662
    7 Emule5 TCP/UDP 4672 4672
    8 4711 TCP/UDP 4711 4711
    9 3CXVarios TCP/UDP 7000 7499

    Default LAN to WAN Policy
    LAN to WAN Policies
    V # Service Source Destination Schedule Action Config
    1 3CXVarios 192.168.1.6 ANY None Allow (Source NAT:Auto)
    2 STUN 192.168.1.6 ANY None Allow (Source NAT:Auto)
    3 3CX ANY ANY None Allow (Source NAT:Auto)
    4 VOIP3 ANY ANY None Allow (Source NAT:Auto)
    5 VOIP ANY ANY None Allow (Source NAT:Auto)
    6 ANY 192.168.1.0/24 192.168.0.0/24 None Allow (Source NAT:None)

    WAN to LAN Policies
    V # Service Source Destination Schedule Action Config
    1 3CXVarios ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    2 Emule1 ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    3 4711 ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    4 Emule5 ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    5 Emule3 ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    6 STUN ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    7 VOIP3 ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    8 3CX ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    9 VOIP ANY 192.168.1.6 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
    10 ANY 192.168.0.0/24 192.168.1.0/24 None Allow (Redirect to:None)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    229
    It could be that firewall is blocking ports 10000 and up. Some routers with an additional firewall can cause issues with ports that don't normally require forwarding. This post might give you a bit more to work with...

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/the-portforwarding-faq-hope-this-gets-a-sticky-1697.html
     
  9. boden

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I read I understand that I have more ports than necesarry that are ok on my router to avoid any problems, but I still get the problem!

    10:41:56.656 [MS105000] C:4.2: No RTP packets were received:remoteAddr=XXX.XXX.X.162:45808,extAddr=XXX.XXX.XXX6.94:9008,localAddr=190.244.116.94:9008

    What else can I do???

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. boden

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe this helps?

    10:48:28.671 [CM506001]: STUN request to resolve SIP external IP:port mapping is sent to STUN server 96.9.132.83:3478 over Transport 192.168.1.6:5060
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.