Solved SSL Certificate on 3CX on Debian running on Digital Ocean

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by David Sokolic, Dec 28, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. David Sokolic

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    i just installed 3CX on a Debian Machine on Digital Ocean. All seems to be working well - except that when I log in from the browser it does not seem to recognize the SSL certificate. I get the typical error message on Chrome that I am logging into a non-secure site.

    Do I need to download and install the certificate from 3CX onto my Debian Machine? What to do?
     
  2. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    421
    Did you use a 3CX FQDN and certificate? If you have then it is imported automatically upon installation and should be trusted since it a Let's Encrypt certificate.
     
  3. David Sokolic

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did use a 3CX FQDN. That is why I am not sure why it didn't work
     
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    421
    Have you tried a different browser in case this is browser issue?
    Also if you try to view the certificate on the browser does it show expired?
     
  5. David Sokolic

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works when I put in the FQDN. It does not work when I put in the fixed IP address of the server
     
  6. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    421
    Please note that this is normal. the certificate is issued for the FQDN not the public IP. If your public IP changes the certificate will still be valid for your FQDN
     
  7. cradyhell

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had same issue. I used 3cx FQDN. I fixed the issue by adding additional DNS to resolv.conf in /etc

    Before:
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4

    I changed to:
    nameserver 208.67.222.222
    nameserver 208.67.220.220
    nameserver 8.8.8.8
    nameserver 8.8.4.4

    Instructions:
    sudo nano /etc/resolv.conf

    add the above and save. That fixed it for me.
    ** you may need to let DNS propagate for a few hours.

    I have 4 3cx V15 clients on DIGITALOCEAN It was easy, fast and zero down time. BRAVO to 3cx and DIGITALOCEAN
     
    #7 cradyhell, Jun 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2017
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.