SSML Text to Speech

Discussion in 'CRM / Helpdesk / App Integration' started by SpatialDataLogic, Jul 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SpatialDataLogic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been reading about SSML online and I still can't seem to get it to work in the VAD with the text to speech feature. Is there a certain format that it has to be put in?
     
  2. VAD_Support

    VAD_Support Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI,

    You need to create an expression that returns a XML block. If you enter the XML hardcoded, then remember to add single quotes and escape the quotes into the XML, to avoid ecmascript semantic errors.

    For example, to enter this as a constant value:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <speak version="1.0" xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2001/10/synthesis"
             xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
             xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.w3.org/2001/10/synthesis
                       http://www.w3.org/TR/speech-synthesis/synthesis.xsd"
             xml:lang="en-US">
      <p>
        <s>This is the first sentence of the paragraph.</s>
        <s>Here's another sentence.</s>
      </p>
    </speak>

    You need to enter this:
    Code:
    '<?xml version=\"1.0\"?><speak version=\"1.0\" xmlns=\"http://www.w3.org/2001/10/synthesis\" xmlns:xsi=\"http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance\" xsi:schemaLocation=\"http://www.w3.org/2001/10/synthesis http://www.w3.org/TR/speech-synthesis/synthesis.xsd\" xml:lang=\"en-US\"><p><s>This is the first sentence of the paragraph.</s><s>Here\'s another sentence.</s></p></speak>'
    
    If you still have problems, send a screenshot or copy the values of how you're configuring your component.

    Thanks,
     
  3. SpatialDataLogic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply.

    Right now I'm just using a new project with just audio prompts in it to play around with SSML before I use it in the actual project I'm working on. Copy and pasting the example you gave me produces an error.badfetch
     
  4. VAD_Support

    VAD_Support Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be caused by a security configuration of the web server (Abyss / IIS). The web server by default doesn't allow to send XML into the querystring in order to avoid a cross-site scripting attack. But you can disable this behavior in the following way:

    1) Go to the folder %ProgramData%\3CX\Data\Http\Interface\ivr
    2) Open the web.config file from that folder
    3) Look for the <system.web> starting element
    4) Below that element add the following:
    Code:
        <httpRuntime requestValidationMode="2.0" />
        <pages validateRequest="False" />
    
    5) Restart your web server service (Abyss / IIS)

    I'm able to make it work exactly as I posted it in my previous response, so pretty sure this is the problem.

    Please, let me know if it works.

    Thanks,
     
  5. SpatialDataLogic

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works, thanks for your help!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.