Stuck extensions as busy

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by agentsmithitaly, Jan 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agentsmithitaly

Hi to all,
    I'm a sysadmin in a company where we are evaluating 3CX as PBX replacement.

Two users were on an internal call when there was a brief Internet outage (3CX is on a AWS instance)
    When connection resumed, everybody was available again except the two users, which were stuck as busy.
    These users could place calls, but couldn't be called - they were diverted to voicemail.

I checked Activity log and reason for diverting to voicemail was that the called extension was busy.
    I asked to reboot and reprovision the phone to no avail.

Finally, I restarted 3CX SIP server and in a matter of seconds the problem solved.
    Unfortunately the relevant activity log seems to be lost with the restart.

Why this happens? Is there a more graceful way of fixing or preventing this than restarting server?
    This is very similar to what is described on this 10 years old post https://www.3cx.com/community/threads/what-to-do-when-an-extension-is-stuck.3792/

Thank you
    Nick

2. YiannisH_3CX

YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Hello @agentsmithitaly

When internet connection is lost while an extension is on a call then that call is not properly terminated because no Bye message was received by the PBX or the phone. This could result in a "stuck" call. Did you check the active calls page on the dashboard to see if you could terminate the calls from there? Where the calls visible in the switchboard?

You mentioned this was an internal call, but you did not mention what devices are being used,how the devices where provisioned or if these are 3CX clients. Do you have a VPN? An SBC? Do you have recordings enabled or PBX delivers audio?

3. agentsmithitaly

Dear Yannis,