STUN Question to enable or not

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ndl, Jan 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    STUN Question to enable or not

    If we have assigned a static ip address on the firewall for the 3cx server and opened up all of the relevant ports on that ip address for voip do we need to configure STUN support or should be disable STUN support on the 3cx server?
     
  2. alexmallia

    alexmallia New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    You still need to have STUN set up and configured in the 3CX server Settings section -> network.

    Please ensure it is enabled and it is recommended you specify a STUN recommended by your VOIP provider.

    regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    can I ask why if you are using a static ip address
     
  4. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without STUN your PBX will register its private IP to the provider regardless of if the server has a static IP or not. You can also choose to specify your registration IP for that particualr VoIP line and not use stun.

    Best,

    Mike
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok that makes sense.

    Is STUN need if you are not using external VOIP but using PSTN for making and receiving calls, but you are using the 3cx client remotely with or without the tunnel and is you where to use a hard sip phone remotely?
     
  6. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    STUN = Simple Traversal of User Datagram Protocol through NAT

    STUN is basically only necessary when registering across a NAT boundary. In other words...when the IP you register will differ from the actual IP you are reachable at.

    STUN isn't needed with a PSTN adapter becasue your pbx would be on the same subnet together with the pstn gateway.

    A remote hardphone registering back to your PBX would need stun most likely (on the phone) because otherwise the phone will register its private IP. The same goes with the voip client.

    Is this making sense?

    Mike
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ndl

    ndl

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you are making sense, you’re really confirming what I was thinking and just was wanting to have confirmed, mainly about the clients.

    Thanks

    Martin
     
  8. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.