T46G Firmware

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jholcombe, Feb 2, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jholcombe

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    I downgraded two of our Yealink T46G IP phones from 28.80.0.60 to 28.73.0.50. Now the T46G phones appear as $DEVNAME in Server Manager -> Phones. See attached screenshot. Other than that they work fine. Does anyone know if the 28.80.0.60 firmware is supported? The phones shipped with the newer firmware. Is it okay to just use the newer firmware in this case? I've run into problems in the past using unsupported firmware. Thank you!

    --John
     

    Attached Files:

  2. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    separate topic but why did you decide to downgrade?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tsukraw

    tsukraw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    John,
    We have hundreds of phones running 28.80.0.60 with no issues at all.
    I would say you are safe to run that firmware version even though it is not "supported"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. CentrexJ

    CentrexJ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    73
    I have also seen this on the Yealink phones that come with 80 firmware that we downgrade to the 3CX supported 73 firmware. I haven't run into any issues, likely it is a Yealink bug. It might clear up if you do a factory reset of the phone after the downgrade (clear database corruption). I haven't tried yet because like you mentioned there aren't any issues other than the visual in the 3cx mgmt console.

    It is encouraging to hear the feedback that others are using 80 firmware with 3CX 14 without issue but since I don't have any compelling reason to run the 80 firmware (bug fixes or show stoppers that need the new version) I'd rather run the supported version.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ifbbmi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    we use several T46G with 28.80.0.70.

    There is one major issue with this firmware: Devices with extension modules (e.g. EXP40) became very slow. Only a reboot will help. (yealink has a fix with firmware 28.80.0.73, but it's not avialable any more)
    On the other side there are a some of provisioning parameters, which are only applicable on V80 firmware.

    Completely new: T46-28.80.0.95.zip
     
  6. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    Does anyone know the officially supported Yealink firmware for T4x line of phones?

    If 3CX could add this to the support phones page that would be helpful:
    http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/yealink-t32g-t38g-t42g-t46g/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. CentrexJ

    CentrexJ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    73
    The officially supported firmware is what 3CX phone system offers the phone in the Management console, Phones tab when you choose "firmware upgrade". It will upgrade/downgrade the phone to the supported firmware. This is the firmware version that 3CX and the manufacturer have done their extensive interop testing with.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks. Figured as much.

    I have a case open with Yealink and they really push for their "latest" 28.80.0.70 to be applied before they troubleshoot any further...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi,

    I think 3CX support already v80 firmware, because in v14-SP2 the T4x templates contain several v80 provisioning parameter.
    Do a search for “#The following parameters only applicable to V80” and see for yourself.
    I can provision and use the T48G with f/w v80 without any issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. 3CXusername

    3CXusername New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    16
    fyi - Just a heads up to anyone that is looking at the newly released Yealink firmware v28.80.0.95 and doesn't read release notes;)

    (Note: The authentication test of 3CX for this firmware version has not
    completed yet, it is still in progress.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. CentrexJ

    CentrexJ Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    73
    I believe the only version 80 firmware that is currently "supported" in v14 are for the phones that don't have a version 73 firmware such as the T29G, T19E2, etc.

    I would expect that they will support a consistent version 80 firmware across the current generation Yealink phones eventually.

    When version 72 or 73 came out and had important security fixes in it for people remote controlling them 3cx was lightning fast to support that release across the board including changes to the template on the then current generation of Yealink phones.

    Since there isn't any major improvements in the version 80 firmware for the phones that support 73 it will get less priority.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. jholcombe

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have run into one issue - I'm not sure if it's related to the firmware or something else...

    I have a rotating hunt group, 301, that has extensions 101, 102, 103, and 104 in it.

    A call (first caller) comes in to 301, so 101 starts ringing.

    103 wants to answer the call, so 103 presses their BLF for 101. 103 then can talk to the first caller.

    Another call (second caller) comes in to 301 while 103 is on that call. 103 wants to answer the 2nd call, and 103 has "I want to be able to accept more than 1 call at a time" set, so 103 puts first caller on hold, and presses their BLF for 101. The problem is, this time, the call isn't answered (103 keeps ringing and eventually the call rolls to 102). What makes it more interesting is when 102 tries to answer the call, first caller goes off of hold and is answered by 102, even though 103 never transferred first caller to 102.

    Not sure if it's a firmware issue or not, but firmware is as follows:
    101 - 28.80.0.60
    102 - 28.80.0.60
    103 - 28.73.0.50 (downgraded)
    104 - 28.73.0.50 (downgraded)

    I have reset 103 to factory defaults to deal with possible db corruption related to downgrading the firmware.

    I have flashed 101 with the downgraded firmware and reset it to factory to clear db corruption.

    Both 103 and 101 are re-provisioned.

    Now we'll try again in about and hour to see what happens.

    Any ideas on anything else that could possibly cause this problem?

    Thanks!,

    --John
     
  13. jholcombe

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Update - Still have the problem with older firmware. Perhaps I should start a new thread, as this issue might not be related to firmware?
     
  14. erling

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    My experience has been that if an extension is in use, the ring group no longer includes it in subsequent calls. In other words, it doesn't pay attention to the "accept more that one call" setting on the extension.

    One workaround would be to assign more extensions to the phone (that would be included in the ring group) so the phone would have the chance to answer a "ring group" call, even when it's already on a call.

    Obviously it would be better if the ring group paid attention to the "accept more than one call" setting.

    Maybe someone else knows how to make that work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.