TAPI Compatibility

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by SquareOneResources, Oct 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SquareOneResources

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    We are using 3CX phone system version 11 and are looking to integrate it with our CRM application (local client install, not web based), and we want our CRM to be able to dial out using the 3CX telephone system when clicking a "Call" button within itself. Our current CRM application already has TAPI functionality built in.

    Our supplier pointed us in the direction of this link: http://www.3cx.com/blog/myphone/crm-integration/ however since we only want to be able to dial out and not use any of the screen-pop features we don't want to have to write a plug-in if this can be avoided.

    I have since found this tech note: http://www.3cx.com/blog/releases/3cx-assistant-tapi/ which suggest what we need is possible, but I can find nothing on the "How to..." side of things.

    Can anyone assist?
     
  2. darthzejdr

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done some custom applications using tapi support, and from what i saw tapi is configured on your computer when you install 3cx myphone. As such i think installing myphone, and keeping it running should be enough for calls to work(via tapi). I'm not sure whether you'd need to set something additional on your computer or not. What crm are you using?

    a second option(the one i used in a call center) would be to create a custom dialer, and then run that dialer via a call link. But you need 3cx myphone for that

    Third option would be to use custom call links that can be created via http api. The problem with this aproach is you need to create custom dialer for each user since you need pin number in the command. http api is documented here:
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/3cx-http-api/

    In any case, it all depends on your crm, and how much you can customize it.
     
  3. SquareOneResources

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I'll take a look at some of those options.

    The CRM application we're using is a product called Colleague; we've got it so far as to it trying to initialize a call, and it's picking up the '3CX TAPI Service Provider' when trying to dial but we still seem to be missing something as it's failing to initialize the call.

    The info I can't seem to find from anywhere is what settings any application needs in order to make a call out through the 3CX server (minus all the screen popping etc.)

    I'll see if any of those links provide the hint. :D Many thanks, I'll let you know how we get on.
     
  4. darthzejdr

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to be logged into myphone for this to work. Have you tried using dialer?(start->run->dialer) All tapi applications should work similar, so if you can get a call to work with dialer then it should work with your cms as well.

    When you dial, first your phone will ring, and then the number you've dialed.

    When you try to dial with that crm, do you get anything in your 3cx logs? That might help determining why it doesn't work
     
  5. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    It is much easier via Command Line API (donwload it at: http://3cx.com/downloads/3CXCRM10.msi). It is compatible with V11. Read more at: http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/command-line-api/

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. SquareOneResources

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all for your input, we seems to have it working (on the whole), we just needed to specify the name of the 3CX TAPI driver rather than input an extension/user id/password, and tweak a couple of registry entries.

    Works absolutely fine with headsets using 3CX phone/MyPhone but not if using a traditional telephone (along with 3CX and MyPhone), it'll ring the telephone once and then the call is passed to the 3CX phone. Though this is ok for now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.