Target Not Availble (Ring Group)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by aerostotle, Aug 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aerostotle

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    800 is our receptionist ring group. That ring group is set to ring 4 extensions for 15 seconds, then connect to extension 305 if no answer. 305 is unregistered but forwards to our after-hours call centre (the 7809171211) number. The 4 extensions were free at the time, but this call was immediately ditched by the system. This is a very intermittent problem. Any ideas?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,757
    Likes Received:
    286
    Did all four members of the ring group show as registered at the time? Does the log show them registering at a later point?
    If you dial 800 from an extension, not in the ring group, does it ring the members?

    Being intermittent, it almost sounds like the sets are not re-registering within the "normal" 30 minute default time-out.
     
  3. aerostotle

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    All of the 4 extensions on the ring group were registered and working properly. Inbound calls were being handled through 800 properly in the minutes before and after the troubled call. I don't get what the 30 minute default time-out is.... :(
     
  4. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Or folks are using DND to make themselves unavailable on purpose or by accident. What make/model of phones?
     
  5. aerostotle

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Polycom 335. They don't know how to use DND...
     
  6. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    The 30 minutes being referenced is that the phones have a schedule registration interval. It is possible that the phones dropped off line due to a network issues, but the system thinks they are still registered as the time has not elapsed and the phones did not unregistered as they might as some cases like a commanded reboot or other.

    If the system thinks they are stil registered and made an attempt to forward the call and got no response, this might explain the unavailable message.
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,757
    Likes Received:
    286
    Did this issue just crop up, or has it been this way since the original install? If it began recently, have there been any hardware or firmware/software changes/updates done on the network/system?
     
  8. aerostotle

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    lneblett: Is it likely that that problem would affect 4 separate extensions, all at the same time, and then restore them all at the same time? It doesn't sound like there would be enough commonality to make that happen.
     
  9. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Possibly. If indeed there was some type of network issue and the phones were not able to re-register, then they try to recoverby using an aceILerated registration algorithm. f the network came back then there is some likelihood that the phones all started to re-register at the same or approximately the same time.
     
  10. aerostotle

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured this one out. Apparently a ring group can only handle one call at at time, meaning if a second person calls before anyone answers the first call, it immediately handles the second call as if it was unanswered. Meaning that if you want a ring group that handles multiple people calling, you need to either use a queue or string multiple ring groups together (ring group 1 sends the call to a clone ring group 2 if it is unanswered).

    Design flaw? How hard would it be to allow multiple calls on a single ring group extension?
     
  11. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,321
    Likes Received:
    253
    aerostotle - that is good finding - except my system seems to accept multiple calls on a ring group at the same time.

    I use them for my incoming calls when my receptionist is on break or at lunch. she forwards her phone to DND and calls goto a Ring Group ringing 5 phones. if another call comes in, another line flashes on those phones.

    could it be how your phones are setup - or the extension - not allowing more than 1 call.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    12

    Just tested, ring groups can have more then one call at the same time
     
  13. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    Ring groups support multiple calls at the same time.

    The issue is:
    13:40:33.968 [CM503016]: Call(5164): Attempt to reach <sip:800@10.10.10.9:5060> failed. Reason: Not Registered
    13:40:33.968 [CM503017]: Call(5164): Target is not registered: <sip:305@10.10.10.9:5060>
    13:40:33.968 [CM503016]: Call(5164): Attempt to reach <sip:800@10.10.10.9:5060> failed. Reason: Temporarily Unavailable
    13:40:33.968 [CM503026]: Call(5164): Target is not available: RingAll800[]

    Until this is understood and fixed, there will be no effective ring group handling. Perhaps a system service did not start or start correctly. Perhaps this is also related to the removal of ring group features in V11 from the free version that I have seen posted throught the forum of late. The version and whether paid or not was not mentioned in this thread.
     
  14. aerostotle

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paid version 10. Will restart services at the close of business.

    The problem definitely only occurs when there is already a ringing call on the ring group and at no other time. I guess this is isolated to my system and not a design problem.
     
  15. dynatech1

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever found a solution, it looks like i had this problem just now also. 2 calls on the same time and 1 was transfered to the "Destination if no answer" option.
     
  16. 3CXfoxhallsolutions

    3CXfoxhallsolutions New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you checked that the extensions that are members of the ring-group, all have the setting 'I want to be able to accept more than 1 call at the same time- uses phone status' - selected (ticked)??

    You'll find that setting in the 'Phone is Busy' section in the 'Forwarding Rules -> Available' for each extension.

    best regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.