Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Testing 3cx - Strange Audio Issue - Please HELP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by soniic2003, Jun 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    We're testing out 3CX free edition (looking to roll it out in full) but have a problem with an off-site user. They're using a softphone off-site (x-lite, latest version).

    THIS WORKS:
    1) Inbound calls from a landline --> xlite work fine (2-way audio)
    2) Calls from xlite-->voicemail (999) work fine (2-way audio)
    3) Calls between extensions work fine (2-way audio)

    THE PROBLEM:
    4) Calls from xlite-->landline have no audio. How is this possible given the above??? We have this working fine with other off-site home users.

    Any suggestions/advice would be great. I find it really confusing because 1,2,3 above are indeed working (whats the difference between #1 and #4?)

    The user is using DD-WRT on a Linksys WRT54GS v1.1

    Thanks in advance :?:
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    329
    Have you tried another softphone (or an ATA) from the same site as the x-lite? Does x-lite work properly from other sites? Just trying to narrow down if is an x-lite issue or an issue with that particular location. Do your outside calls come in via a VoIP provider or a gateway? I'm wondering if it might be a codec issue. What do the 3CX logs show on calls with no audio? Does the extension have "PBX delivers audio" enabled or disabled?
     
  3. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Give it a shot with the VOIP phone lets narrow down the issue first.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Thanks for your reply. Here are the answers:

    -Softphones/hardphones work from other off-sites (although they have different NAT routers (linksys, netgear, dlink, sonicwall, etc)
    -In/Out calls to PTSN go through the same SIP trunk to a voip provider
    -If it were a codec issue, why do calls from landline-->x-lite work fine at that users location? Only calls from x-lite-->landline produce no audio at that users location (see 1-3 in my original post)
    -I've tried "PBX delivers audio" both ways (default is off) and no luck.


    Here is the server log NOT working for x-lite-->landline:
    I can see that it says no RTP packets were received, the remoteAddr is the off-site location. What would cause this? Especially since landline-->x-lite and x-lite-->voicemail/otherextensions work fine.....?
    Code:
    09:59:49.131  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    09:59:22.835  [MS105000] C:46.1: No RTP packets were received:remoteAddr=xxx.xxx.140.161:40224,extAddr=yyy.yyy.100.84:9010,localAddr=yyy.yyy.100.84:9010
    09:59:22.381  [CM503008]: Call(46): Call is terminated
    09:59:17.131  Active calls counted toward license limit: [46]
    09:59:15.225  [MS211000] C:46.2: zzz.zzz.19.12:15792 is delivering DTMF using RTP payload (RFC2833). In-Band DTMF tone detection is disabled for this call segment.
    09:59:13.335  [CM503007]: Call(46): Device joined: sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060
    09:59:13.335  [CM503007]: Call(46): Device joined: sip:223@xxx.xxx.140.161:16438
    09:59:13.319  [CM505003]: Provider:[Burloak] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Asterisk PBX] PBX contact: [sip:yyy.yyy.100.84:5060]
    09:59:13.319  [CM503002]: Call(46): Alerting sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060
    09:59:04.475  [CM503025]: Call(46): Calling VoIPline:nnnnnn3895@(Ln.10000@Burloak)@[Dev:sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060]
    09:59:04.381  [CM503004]: Call(46): Route 1: VoIPline:nnnnnn3895@(Ln.10000@Burloak)@[Dev:sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060]
    09:59:04.381  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to "nnnnnn3895"<sip:nnnnnn3895@gwsip2.domain.com>
    09:59:04.366  [CM505001]: Ext.223: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Counterpath;Mod: X-Lite;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, unable-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [X-Lite release 1104o stamp 56125] PBX contact: [sip:223@yyy.yyy.100.84:5060]
    09:59:04.366  [CM503001]: Call(46): Incoming call from Ext.223 to "nnnnnn3895"<sip:nnnnnn3895@gwsip2.domain.com>
    09:58:45.131  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    
    Here is the server log WORKING for xlite-->voicemail (999):
    Code:
    10:40:17.187  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    10:39:51.640  [CM503008]: Call(51): Call is terminated
    10:39:45.187  Active calls counted toward license limit: [51]
    10:39:40.859  [CM503007]: Call(51): Device joined: sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba
    10:39:40.859  [CM503007]: Call(51): Device joined: sip:223@xxx.xxx.140.161:16438
    10:39:40.843  [CM505001]: Ext.999: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: 3CX Ltd.;Mod: Voice Mail Menu;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CX Voice Mail Menu] PBX contact: [sip:999@127.0.0.1:5060]
    10:39:40.843  [CM503002]: Call(51): Alerting sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba
    10:39:40.687  [CM503025]: Call(51): Calling Ext:Ext.999@[Dev:sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba]
    10:39:40.640  [CM503004]: Call(51): Route 1: Ext:Ext.999@[Dev:sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba]
    10:39:40.640  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to "999"<sip:999@gwsip2.domain.com>
    10:39:40.625  [CM505001]: Ext.223: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Counterpath;Mod: X-Lite;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, unable-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [X-Lite release 1104o stamp 56125] PBX contact: [sip:223@yyy.yyy.100.84:5060]
    10:39:40.625  [CM503001]: Call(51): Incoming call from Ext.223 to "999"<sip:999@gwsip2.domain.com>
    10:39:13.156  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    
    QUESTIONS:
    1) This seems to be a network/NAT issue but if thats the case why do some calls from x-lite work (voice mail, other extension) yet others dont (landline)?
    2) Could this be an issue related to the voip provider? (note: landline-->xlite works fine, and the log above seems to imply no RTP is coming in from the remote site - but why only when dialing a landline? Does x-lite know the difference/treat things differently depending on the destination being dialed?)
    3) What is the difference between (landline-->x-lite) which works and (x-lite-->landline) which does not work? Also, (x-lite-->voicemail) and (x-lite-->other extensions) work fine too. How is that possible? Does x-lite treat different destinations differently?

    What do I do? Going nuts here...

    Thanks
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    329
    So, it looks like the issue could be caused by the router/firewall at that users location. Since you have a number of locations, is the same router used anywhere else so that you can compare settings/options. Are there any other SIP devices also being used at this location, 3CX or otherwise? Have you tried changing the port number on the x-lite, perhaps there is a conflict at that site. I'm assuming that STUN has been enabled on the x-lite.
     
  6. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    -Not using this hardware elsewhere
    -Why does xlite-->voicemail; xlite-->other extensions; and landline-->xlite work fine?? ONLY xlite-->landline produces no audio
    -If it were a network/router issue, would it differentiate between xlite-->voicemail (working); xlite-->other extensions (working); and xlite-->landline (NOT working - no audio)?

    -There are no port conflicts or other VOIP devices running, just a 3cx client at that site.

    Ideas?? I'm going to be bald soon....
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    329
    Perhaps it's an option on the PC that is running x-lite? Is it a laptop that can be tested at a different location? What make/model router are you using at that location?
     
  8. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not an issue with the laptop - I've taken it to another site where it works fine....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.