Testing 3cx - Strange Audio Issue - Please HELP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by soniic2003, Jun 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    We're testing out 3CX free edition (looking to roll it out in full) but have a problem with an off-site user. They're using a softphone off-site (x-lite, latest version).

    THIS WORKS:
    1) Inbound calls from a landline --> xlite work fine (2-way audio)
    2) Calls from xlite-->voicemail (999) work fine (2-way audio)
    3) Calls between extensions work fine (2-way audio)

    THE PROBLEM:
    4) Calls from xlite-->landline have no audio. How is this possible given the above??? We have this working fine with other off-site home users.

    Any suggestions/advice would be great. I find it really confusing because 1,2,3 above are indeed working (whats the difference between #1 and #4?)

    The user is using DD-WRT on a Linksys WRT54GS v1.1

    Thanks in advance :?:
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,565
    Likes Received:
    245
    Have you tried another softphone (or an ATA) from the same site as the x-lite? Does x-lite work properly from other sites? Just trying to narrow down if is an x-lite issue or an issue with that particular location. Do your outside calls come in via a VoIP provider or a gateway? I'm wondering if it might be a codec issue. What do the 3CX logs show on calls with no audio? Does the extension have "PBX delivers audio" enabled or disabled?
     
  3. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Give it a shot with the VOIP phone lets narrow down the issue first.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Thanks for your reply. Here are the answers:

    -Softphones/hardphones work from other off-sites (although they have different NAT routers (linksys, netgear, dlink, sonicwall, etc)
    -In/Out calls to PTSN go through the same SIP trunk to a voip provider
    -If it were a codec issue, why do calls from landline-->x-lite work fine at that users location? Only calls from x-lite-->landline produce no audio at that users location (see 1-3 in my original post)
    -I've tried "PBX delivers audio" both ways (default is off) and no luck.


    Here is the server log NOT working for x-lite-->landline:
    I can see that it says no RTP packets were received, the remoteAddr is the off-site location. What would cause this? Especially since landline-->x-lite and x-lite-->voicemail/otherextensions work fine.....?
    Code:
    09:59:49.131  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    09:59:22.835  [MS105000] C:46.1: No RTP packets were received:remoteAddr=xxx.xxx.140.161:40224,extAddr=yyy.yyy.100.84:9010,localAddr=yyy.yyy.100.84:9010
    09:59:22.381  [CM503008]: Call(46): Call is terminated
    09:59:17.131  Active calls counted toward license limit: [46]
    09:59:15.225  [MS211000] C:46.2: zzz.zzz.19.12:15792 is delivering DTMF using RTP payload (RFC2833). In-Band DTMF tone detection is disabled for this call segment.
    09:59:13.335  [CM503007]: Call(46): Device joined: sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060
    09:59:13.335  [CM503007]: Call(46): Device joined: sip:223@xxx.xxx.140.161:16438
    09:59:13.319  [CM505003]: Provider:[Burloak] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Asterisk PBX] PBX contact: [sip:yyy.yyy.100.84:5060]
    09:59:13.319  [CM503002]: Call(46): Alerting sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060
    09:59:04.475  [CM503025]: Call(46): Calling VoIPline:nnnnnn3895@(Ln.10000@Burloak)@[Dev:sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060]
    09:59:04.381  [CM503004]: Call(46): Route 1: VoIPline:nnnnnn3895@(Ln.10000@Burloak)@[Dev:sip:zzz.zzz.19.12:5060]
    09:59:04.381  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to "nnnnnn3895"<sip:nnnnnn3895@gwsip2.domain.com>
    09:59:04.366  [CM505001]: Ext.223: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Counterpath;Mod: X-Lite;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, unable-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [X-Lite release 1104o stamp 56125] PBX contact: [sip:223@yyy.yyy.100.84:5060]
    09:59:04.366  [CM503001]: Call(46): Incoming call from Ext.223 to "nnnnnn3895"<sip:nnnnnn3895@gwsip2.domain.com>
    09:58:45.131  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    
    Here is the server log WORKING for xlite-->voicemail (999):
    Code:
    10:40:17.187  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    10:39:51.640  [CM503008]: Call(51): Call is terminated
    10:39:45.187  Active calls counted toward license limit: [51]
    10:39:40.859  [CM503007]: Call(51): Device joined: sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba
    10:39:40.859  [CM503007]: Call(51): Device joined: sip:223@xxx.xxx.140.161:16438
    10:39:40.843  [CM505001]: Ext.999: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: 3CX Ltd.;Mod: Voice Mail Menu;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CX Voice Mail Menu] PBX contact: [sip:999@127.0.0.1:5060]
    10:39:40.843  [CM503002]: Call(51): Alerting sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba
    10:39:40.687  [CM503025]: Call(51): Calling Ext:Ext.999@[Dev:sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba]
    10:39:40.640  [CM503004]: Call(51): Route 1: Ext:Ext.999@[Dev:sip:999@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=65aa450e32db0bba]
    10:39:40.640  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to "999"<sip:999@gwsip2.domain.com>
    10:39:40.625  [CM505001]: Ext.223: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Counterpath;Mod: X-Lite;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, unable-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [X-Lite release 1104o stamp 56125] PBX contact: [sip:223@yyy.yyy.100.84:5060]
    10:39:40.625  [CM503001]: Call(51): Incoming call from Ext.223 to "999"<sip:999@gwsip2.domain.com>
    10:39:13.156  Active calls counted toward license limit: []
    
    QUESTIONS:
    1) This seems to be a network/NAT issue but if thats the case why do some calls from x-lite work (voice mail, other extension) yet others dont (landline)?
    2) Could this be an issue related to the voip provider? (note: landline-->xlite works fine, and the log above seems to imply no RTP is coming in from the remote site - but why only when dialing a landline? Does x-lite know the difference/treat things differently depending on the destination being dialed?)
    3) What is the difference between (landline-->x-lite) which works and (x-lite-->landline) which does not work? Also, (x-lite-->voicemail) and (x-lite-->other extensions) work fine too. How is that possible? Does x-lite treat different destinations differently?

    What do I do? Going nuts here...

    Thanks
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,565
    Likes Received:
    245
    So, it looks like the issue could be caused by the router/firewall at that users location. Since you have a number of locations, is the same router used anywhere else so that you can compare settings/options. Are there any other SIP devices also being used at this location, 3CX or otherwise? Have you tried changing the port number on the x-lite, perhaps there is a conflict at that site. I'm assuming that STUN has been enabled on the x-lite.
     
  6. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    -Not using this hardware elsewhere
    -Why does xlite-->voicemail; xlite-->other extensions; and landline-->xlite work fine?? ONLY xlite-->landline produces no audio
    -If it were a network/router issue, would it differentiate between xlite-->voicemail (working); xlite-->other extensions (working); and xlite-->landline (NOT working - no audio)?

    -There are no port conflicts or other VOIP devices running, just a 3cx client at that site.

    Ideas?? I'm going to be bald soon....
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,565
    Likes Received:
    245
    Perhaps it's an option on the PC that is running x-lite? Is it a laptop that can be tested at a different location? What make/model router are you using at that location?
     
  8. soniic2003

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not an issue with the laptop - I've taken it to another site where it works fine....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.