Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Transfer a call when call queue ringing

Discussion in 'Windows' started by andywingate, Sep 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andywingate

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Is there any way to solve this simple problem?

    In my department we have a call queue so that incoming calls to a particular number ring on all phones, and when busy the calls queue up.

    However, when a user is already on a call and wishes to transfer to another queue user they cant do it if there are any unanswered calls in the queue as if the person being transferred to picks up they simply answer the queue not the transferred call

    Any suggestions for this?

    Thanks
    Andy
     
  2. rogueblackburn

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are your extensions set to receive multiple calls when busy?

    When your queue "rings all" agents, they are all being signalled - and from a systems point of view busy. Perhaps change the strategy to present queued calls to agents, for example longest idle, if you don't want the agents to be able and take more than one call at the time.
     
  3. andywingate

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So there is no way to prioritise transfers over incoming calls?
     
  4. rogueblackburn

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps a misunderstanding, that is not what I meant: in your case it is possible that based on the configuration, the call can not be transferred as all the agents / phones are already busy with another call that has been presented to them in the queue or ring group.

    Are your extensions configured to allow receiving more than one call? If not, they can only receive one call at the time, and if your signalling method is "ring all", the same call occupies all available extensions, so to say. In the queues you can use other signalling methods, however some of them are part of the PRO Edition licenses, in the ring groups you can either ring all, or prioritized hunt which goes through the listed extensions from top to bottom.
     
  5. sheraton

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think OP is struggling with this scenario, as follows:

    Ext 200 is physically sitting next to Ext 201 and they are just chatting across their desks to establish whether or not they want to take the calls, they aren't doing an announced transfer.

    Incoming Call 1 rings all phones logged into the queue, ext's 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205
    Ext 200 answers the phone and the caller asks to talk to the person on ext 201. Ext 200 puts the caller on hold.
    Incoming Call 2 then comes in, ringing ext 200, 201, 202, 203, 204 and 205.
    The operator of Ext 200 is now in limbo because they can't get to the Original Call 1 nor can they transfer it to Ext 201 (because both Ext 200 and Ext 201 are now ringing with the Incoming Call 2). A third person then has to answer the call on Ext 202. the problem occurs a lot if the number of calls being received is high, say 4 or 5 at a time.

    Even if the phones are set to be able to take two calls at once (i.e. call waiting), how do they select which call the phone will answer when they pick up the handset (ext 201 in this example)?

    Any ideas?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.