Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Transfer buttons on phone

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by pukkainc, Jun 9, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pukkainc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are using Yealink T27P phones. I would like the buttons on the phone to do an attended transfer, rather than the default blind transfer. I found the setting in the provisioning template for the DSS key to be attended, but the phones still use blind no matter what. I created a BLF Transfer key and it too does a blind one. Here is the setting in the template:

    #Define the way of DSS key when configuring as a transfer key; 0-Display Number, 1-Attended Transfer, 2-Blind Transfer (default);
    transfer.dsskey_deal_type = 1

    I verified inside the phone web interface that the DSS key is set to be attended, yet it still does a bling transfer.

    This is kind of a big deal for us, as we only do attended transfers here, and there is a large chance of error of doing a blind transfer if the buttons are setup this way.

    Anyone have suggestions for me?
     
  2. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    84
    I tried changing this myself in the template, reset and re-provisioned the phone, and after doing that when I transferred a call using a BLF it was now an Attended Transfer, so this option did seem to work for me.

    FYI, I was running firmware v45.80.0.110 on the T27.
     
  3. pukkainc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nick.

    Thanks for that info. Is the setting in my post the one you changed in the template? I am running the same firmware version as you, and I reprovisioned again to be sure. None of the Tran buttons on the phone do an attended transfer. :(

    At least I know it CAN work. :D
     
  4. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    84
    I found and changed the exact parameter you initially posted. Just to be clear though what this does.
    - Ext A receives a call.
    - The user of Ext A presses a BLF button for Ext B.
    - This will put the Caller on hold and open a new call to Ext B.
    - Ext B answers and Ext A is talking with Ext B.
    - Whenever Ext A is ready to transfer the call, they simply 'complete' the transfer by pressing the "Tran" button on their phone.
     
  5. pukkainc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused on the 2nd point "- The user of Ext A presses a BLF button for Ext B." So you have a BLF programmed for someone's extension, instead of of a Transfer button?

    Here is what I want:

    - Ext A receives a call.
    - The user of Ext A presses the BLF Tran button, which asks which extension. Ext A user types in Ext B.
    - This will put the Caller on hold and open a new call to Ext B.
    - Ext B answers and Ext A is talking with Ext B.
    - Whenever Ext A is ready to transfer the call, they simply 'complete' the transfer by pressing the "Tran" button on their phone.
     
  6. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    84
    Well in that case you don't need to change any parameter in the template, you can do that even with the default template. To do it you must:
    - Ext A receives a call.
    - The user of Ext A presses the 'Tran' button.
    - This will put the Caller on hold.
    - User of Ext A types in the Ext B number and presses the OK button, not the 'Tran' button (this would do a Blind Transfer).
    - Ext B answers and Ext A is talking with Ext B.
    - Whenever Ext A is ready to transfer the call, they simply 'complete' the transfer by pressing the "Tran" button on their phone.


    The parameter you mentioned initially is used for the scenario I described in my previous post.
     
  7. pukkainc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh man! Been beating my head against the wall about this all for simply pressing Ok instead of Tran! Thank you so much!
     
  8. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    84
  9. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    OK, #, Send... my users get confused all the time of these little nuances.
    It takes 2 or 3 times before they remember the steps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. pukkainc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm sure a few accidental blind transfers will be mind after we go live with 3CX.
     
  11. Frank D

    Frank D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyway to change this via the provisioning template? I really want to make sure, no user does a blind transfer by accident. We are not a call centre, where people use the phone a lot, so the functionality has to be fool-proof. It can be quite rude and embarrassing to perform an unintended blind transfer. So in our company, people don't use transfer, unless they are really sure, there is no risk of an unintended blind transfer.
    For BLF Keys, it can be changed (Transfer Mode Via Dsskey)
    I am thinking about changing the programmable keys by creating a new XML template:

    Code:
    #######################################################################################
    ##                   Customize the softkey                                           ##                                 
    #######################################################################################
    #Customize the softkeys presented on the phone LCD screen when Callfailed, Callin, Connecting, Dialing, Ringback and Talking. 
    #Before using these parameters, you should store the desired XML files to the provisioning server.
    custom_softkey_call_failed.url = 
    custom_softkey_call_in.url = 
    custom_softkey_connecting.url = 
    custom_softkey_dialing.url = 
    custom_softkey_ring_back.url = 
    custom_softkey_talking.url = 
    But I want to be able to make an attended transfer, which uses the same Key ( in custom_softkey_talking.url right?)

    Any ideas how to solve this?

    Best regards Frank
     
  12. Frank D

    Frank D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    work in progress, I think "talking.xml" this is the right file:

    Somewhere here in Hold, Held or Pretrans mode:

    I bet it's Pretrans you have to change

    Code:
    </Talk>
    <Hold>
      <Disable>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Switch"/>
        <Key Type="Answer"/>
        <Key Type="Reject"/>
      </Disable>
      <Enable>
        <Key Type="Transfer"/>
        <Key Type="Resume"/>
        <Key Type="NewCall"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Enable>
      <Default>
        <Key Type="Transfer"/>
        <Key Type="Resume"/>
        <Key Type="NewCall"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Default>
    </Hold>
    <Held>
      <Disable>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Switch"/>
        <Key Type="Answer"/>
        <Key Type="Reject"/>
        <Key Type="NewCall"/>
      </Disable>
      <Enable>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Enable>
      <Default>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Default>
    </Held>
    <PreTrans>
      <Disable>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Directory"/>
        <Key Type="Switch"/>
        <Key Type="Send"/>
      </Disable>
      <Enable>
        <Key Type="Transfer"/>
        <Key Type="IME"/>
        <Key Type="Delete"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Enable>
      <Default>
        <Key Type="Transfer"/>
        <Key Type="IME"/>
        <Key Type="Delete"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Default>
    </PreTrans>
     
  13. Frank D

    Frank D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    I now successfully changed the behaviour via the phones webinterface.
    [​IMG]
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bx7KcyNk6744d0tpT0Fkb2puWEU/view?usp=sharing

    It's not showing "Transfer" anymore, but just "Call" after having use the transfer button first. So no more risk of unattended transfers.

    unfortunately those settings (should be Talking.xml) are not saved in the local config, just
    phone_setting.custom_softkey_enable = 1
     
  14. Frank D

    Frank D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    Mission accomplished:

    in the provisioning template:
    phone_setting.custom_softkey_enabled =1

    some changes in Talking.xml

    Code:
    <PreTrans>
      <Disable>
        <Key Type="Empty"/>
        <Key Type="Directory"/>
        <Key Type="Switch"/>
        <Key Type="Transfer"/>
     #D change enabled Send, disabled Transfer
      </Disable>
      <Enable>
        <Key Type="Send"/>
        <Key Type="IME"/>
        <Key Type="Delete"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Enable>
      <Default>
        <Key Type="Send"/>
        <Key Type="IME"/>
        <Key Type="Delete"/>
        <Key Type="Cancel"/>
      </Default>
    </PreTrans>
    works like a charm.
    https://youtu.be/dbMfwtcAcyA
     
  15. pukkainc

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work Frank!
     
  16. Frank D

    Frank D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am experiencing some strange behaviour if the third party (target of transfer) doesn't answer: "Resume" does not work properly. The call stays in hold and cannot be accessed anymore.
    I still have to figure out the reason, I guess it has nothing to do with the changes made above. But I am not sure.
     
  17. Frank D

    Frank D New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    6
  18. NickD_3CX

    NickD_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    84
    I replied to the other post, I could not replicate with a V14 default template on a T46 on fw v28.80.0.110.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.