Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

TransferComponent: Using a variable as the destination

Discussion in 'CRM / Helpdesk / App Integration' started by csa452, Oct 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. csa452

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    We are wondering if it is possible to take the value from a variable, let's just say "ExtensionVariable", and then specify that variable as the Destination for a TransferComponent? Presently when we try to do this the call fails, as it seems like the TransferComponent is looking for a static value. Is there any way to achieve this within the VAD, rather than using the API?

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  2. VAD_Support

    VAD_Support Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Destination property of the Transfer component is an expression, so you can use variables there.
    If you're getting an error there, then it is probably caused by a wrong expression.
    How are you configuring the Destination property? What error do you see? Have you checked the 3cxIvrServer.log file?
     
  3. csa452

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 3cxIvrServer.log file seems to say that the variable is undefined:

    Code:
    12:08:43.994|2672|(0):Error! Module '3CX.com.OSBjsi'. Error ID 501. errmsgReferenceError: EnterPIN is not definedline1linetxttokentxt
    
    But when we look at the DEBUGINFO file for the project we see that the variable value does get set (in this case to 1243).

    In the TransferComponent, should I just be able to specify the variable name as the Destination, or is there a particular way it needs to be formatted?

    Thanks again for your help
     
  4. VAD_Support

    VAD_Support Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    For your convenience, use the Expression Editor to create your expression. Pretty sure your variable is the property of another object, so you need to use objectName.EnterPIN and not just EnterPIN.

    To use the expression editor, select your Transfer component in the designer, go to the properties windows, select the Destination property and then click the button on the right. That will open the expression editor. Select "Variable" and then browse to your variable.

    Please give it a try and let me know.

    Thanks,
     
  5. csa452

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply, however when we open the expression editor and look at the list of variables we are not seeing any that could be of use... here is the full list:



    So for example, EnterPIN is a User Input Component, but when we try to use "EnterPIN.Buffer" as the destination the call fails and the logs say that EnterPIN.Buffer is not defined. It also does not appear in the variable list.
     
  6. VAD_Support

    VAD_Support Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is EnterPin located? In the same callflow? Is it below or after? Is it into another component branch? Because in some scenarios the component may not be visible in other stages. Can you paste a screenshot of your callflow where we can see the User Input and the Transfer components?
     
  7. csa452

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    The EnterPIN was located in the same callflow, but it looks like it was in another component branch as you indicated... we moved it so that it was logically grouped with the TransferComponent and that resolved the issue - thanks for your help!

    Chris
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.