• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Trigger Outgoing Call and play prompt!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gledi

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to CFD but trying to find a solution for our monitoring system.
What we want to achieve is that when something happens, a call is made to a specific number and a prompt is played.
Going through CFD examples and documentation, I was not able to find a way to trigger calls from outer events. Our system by default sends emails, but we can capture it's events and transform it in whatever it is possible for 3cx to launch a call.
Is it possible?
Also, the prompt playback seems to be available only for incoming calls. Is there any trick to make it play for outgoing ones?

Thank you

Hi @Gledi,

You need an outbound dialer to make these calls, please take a look here:
https://www.3cx.com/docs/cfd-creating-outbound-dialer/

The dialer can read the numbers to dial for example from a database, so if you insert the info in a database, this could be a solution for your case.

Then, this call will be made between 2 endpoints. One of them is the number to call, and the other endpoint is the extension of a Digital Receptionist to play your message.

Kind regards.
Ernesto.

Thank you very much for the brief response @edossantos

I actually have read the info in your link, and somehow understood it, but since I am trying to make it work with a monitoring system, I need a way to trigger the dialer without automatically starting it. Is there any chance for it?

With the other endpoint being the extension of Digital Receptionist, you mean like it being the A_Number? Is that possible?

Last edited: