Troubleshooting 3CXPhone for MAC mic problem

Discussion in 'Windows' started by livn46, Oct 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. livn46

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone have suggestions for the following problem? The server is at v12 Service Pack Update 6 Build 36097.670, but we were testing the updated Mac client before upgrading to Build 37098.738.

    Symptoms:

    When answering a call using 3CXPhone for MAC version 1.0.41, the volume on the microphone of a USB device gets set to zero in System Preferences on OSx Mavericks 10.9.1. The mic volume is unaffected in 3cx softphone properties.

    To reproduce:

    Answer a call (any call as far as I can tell) when a usb headset is present and watch the microphone volume get set to 0 in System Preferences.

    Troubleshooting steps performed:

    -Used the same headset (Plantronics) and installed 3CXPhone for MAC on a different computer. Version 1.0.28 worked as expected, but upgrading to 1.0.31 or 1.0.41 reset the microphone volume when answering a call.
    -Used a different headset on original computer (OSx Mavericks 10.9.1) and problem persists.
    -Uninstalled version 1.0.31 and installed 1.0.28 and problem is resolved. However, as soon as I upgraded to version 1.0.31 or 1.0.41, the problem resumed. Since the server is pushing 1.0.41, users have no choice but to upgrade.
    -Used the same headset on Windows 8 computer with 3CXPhone version 12.0.36097.0 and there was no problem with mic volume.
    -We have over 100 Windows 3CXPhone clients connected to this server that have never had this issue. Only Mac clients.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    58
    Hi
    We fixed meantime this issue, please try the latest release of MAC client:
    http://downloads.3cx.com/downloads/3CXPhoneforMac12.dmg
    After that, please confirm if the issue still persist.
    Thanks
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. livn46

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    We downloaded version 1.0.60 and this fixed the problem. Thank you for your assistance.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. MFreid

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.6 resolves the mic issue, but introduces a new one - It will not register with our server. All the information is the same, but it just cycles connection attempts - in office out of office in office out of office. continuous loop.

    We have attempted removal and re-install of the software including completely removing the 3CX folder from Documents.

    We are forced to use 1.4 and re-adjust the microphone volume with every call because it will at least connect to the server. This occurs with any user of the software.

    :(

    Mark F
    Leapset.com IT
     
  5. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    58
    Hi Mark
    We keep our 3CXPhone clients in sync with the latest 3CXPhoneSystem we release. According to your description, it might be a problem of backward compatibility. Please specify the 3CXPhoneSystem version, as is specified in its Management Console window. I'm asking this because 3CXPhone 1.0.60 is attempting to connect using the latest ports and TLS certificates the new 3CXPhoneSystem requires.
    Thanks
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. MFreid

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. The Server is on version 12, and has all the available service packs installed and up to date (up to 6.1). It is a mystery so far, but I'm still working at it.

    Mark F
    Leapset
     
  7. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    58
    In 3CXPhone for MAC, a continuous loop in-office/out-of-office is a strong hint that the PBX cannot be reached by http/https at both its internal/external addresses. Is this a manual created account or a provisioned one? That's important to know. If is provisioned, then, from PBX, re-send the welcome eMail and reprovision the phone. If it will not work, I will ask you by PM for an eMail address to "dig" a bit deeper.
    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. MFreid

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    The server is not local so we are unable to auto-provision the phones, so they're manually created/setup.
    Thank you for your assistance on this issue.
     
  9. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    58
    OK now. There are several things here:

    - In case of a manually created account, the 3CXPhone 1.0.60 takes the Local PBX IP / External PBX IP you manually entered when created account, and attempt (basically, it assumes) to connect the MyPhone server on port 80 (http) or 443 (https). Prior 1.0.60, it attempted on ports 5000 (http) or 5001 (https). These ports were, and are, internally hardcoded inside the 3CXPhone, so you cannot change them. Since your old 1.0.40 successfully connected to the PBX while the new 1.0.60 - not, it means your PBX still use the old 5000/5001 pair of ports. In this case, definitely you will not be able to connect 1.0.60 using a manually configured account.

    - When I said "reprovision the phone", I was referring the so-called "welcome eMail". To do so, in the PBX management console, edit the extension you want to use and specify there an eMail address you use. Save extension settings then, on the top bar, click "Send welcome eMail". This will send you an email containing as attachment a valid configuration profile (.3cxconfig) for your extension. No matter you're "in office" or "out of office", on your Mac read that email and save the attachment (is saved in Downloads). Then double-click it or right-click it and choose open with 3CXPHone. In this way, you "reprovisioned" your 3CXPhone with a valid account. If you're out of office, it will try first in office, then should connect... out-of-office.

    - you said you have the latest PBX, but I'm not sure about this. The latest 12.5 no longer use ports 5000/5001, but 80/443, so the 3CXPhone 1.0.60 should connect properly on a manually created account. Also, strictly related to "reprovisioning", the .3cxconfig file generated by the 12.5 contains a newly-added provisioning external link, which allow 3CXPhone to reprovision even if you're "out-of-office".

    Hope it helps
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. MFreid

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    This information helped a lot and we were able to resolve the issue.

    Our server is hosted in the cloud and as part of the setup the welcome email doesn't send the provisioning attachment as it makes the application try to connect to an external IP which doesn't work. However, we do have access to the server itself via remote desktop.

    What helped specifically was just knowing about the port change. Once I knew that, we connected to the system and changed the Windows server's IIS settings, adding 80 and 443 to the existing 5000 and 5001. This allows both 1.0.4 and 1.0.6 to connect and work flawlessly now.

    Thanks for all of your assistance.

    Mark F
    Leapset IT
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.