Tunnel Configuration Issue

Discussion in 'Windows' started by mandev, Mar 26, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anybody have a working Tunnel configuration now? That is one that does'nt use somebody elses VPN?

    Les
     
  2. Resolve

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I could say yes. I'm struggling here with exactly that problem

    A list of firewall ports - server side would be useful...


    Tim
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Resolve

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0

    Stupid question - Is the tunnel enabled on the free version ?


    Tim
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Resolve

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Although it feels like I'm talking to myself :p .....

    Wireshark is showing there is a tunnel but 3cx is responding with lots of :-

    17 5.870948 [deleted ip address] 192.168.1.50 SIP Status: 503 Service Unavailable


    :?: :?: :?:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes my wireshark says the same, the issue is between 3CX and the tunnel.exe on the server.

    I believe developer assistance is required.

    les
     
  6. Resolve

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yep - some help is definitely required. There's a significant installation waiting on this :cry:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. polyphemos

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the latest client build (4316) the tunnel appears to work flawlessly for me. Not extensively tested yet, but we have tried it on several different machines and with at couple of different internet accesses, inlcluding a slow wireless one (too slow to speak intelligibly, but tunnel set up just fine).

    Our system is very basic. Server runs on an XP machine, external IP is via a dyndns.org address, router is a cheap Netgear.

    However, two specific things were necessary to get it up and running (both identified by other people on this forum - thanks!).

    1) "Use tunnel of host" ( = client IP) is set to 127.0.0.2

    2) A restart of the tunnel server was needed for it to connect the first time. Additional clients have registered directly without restart, so likely this is a glitch in the server, not the client.

    Complete set of settings:

    "IP or FQDN" 198.162.0.2 ( = local server IP)
    "Use tunnel of host" 127.0.0.2
    "Remote end of tunnel" xxx.dyndns.org ( = external IP of router)

    Plus of course tunnel port (5090) forwarded in router to the server machine.
     
  8. Resolve

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    After some help from Zen (and 3cx), I too have now got it working :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can somebody please post the .ini's

    Well I tried setting 127.0.0.2 and rebooting the server. Its still not working.

    From one of those that has it now working is it possible may I have BOTH client and server .ini files posted.

    I also have the lastest server but there may be other issues with the0 SIP domain.

    Les
     
  10. polyphemos

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's my tunnel .ini files from both server and client. I just de-identified passwords and external IPs.


    3CXTunnel.ini (client side)

    [3CXTunnel\Logger\Outputs\LogFile]
    Level=10
    File=3CXBridge.log
    KeepBackup=1
    Severity=Log Error Critical Trace
    Format=$FileLine : {$ShortDT}($Severity$Level):
    MaxFileSizeKB=2048
    [Conn1]
    TunnelPort=5090
    ID=123456
    SipInterfaces=Iface1
    Name=ServerSide
    TunnelAddr=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
    Password=xxxx
    DoesConnect=1
    Secure=0
    [3CXTunnel\logger\outputs\debug]
    severity=Debug Dump Critical
    file=dbg:
    level=20
    format=$FileLine : ($Subsystem::$Method):
    [Bridge]
    Name=ClientSide
    Password=incoming_psw
    Bridges=Conn1
    ListenPort=5090
    JustInstalled=0
    ListenIP=0.0.0.0
    [3CXTunnel\Logger\Outputs\]
    LogFile=1
    debug=1
    path=.\
    [123456\Iface1]
    SipProxyPort=5080
    SipDomain=test.3cx.local
    SipProxyIP=192.168.0.9


    3CXTunnel.ini (server side)

    [3CXTunnel\Logger\Outputs\LogFile]
    Severity=Log Error Critical Trace
    File=3CXTunnel.log
    MaxFileSizeKB=2048
    Format=$FileLine : [$ShortDT]($Severity$Level):
    KeepBackup=1
    Level=10
    [Conn1]
    TunnelPort=5090
    ID=123456
    Password=xxxx
    Secure=0
    SipInterfaces=Iface1
    Name=ClientSide
    TunnelAddr=0.0.0.0
    DoesConnect=0
    [3CXTunnel\logger\outputs\debug]
    severity=Debug Dump Critical
    file=dbg:
    format=$FileLine : ($Subsystem::$Method):
    level=20
    [Bridge]
    Name=ServerSide
    Password=incoming_psw
    Bridges=Conn1
    ListenIP=0.0.0.0
    ListenPort=5090
    [123456\Iface1]
    SipDomain=test.3cx.local
    SipProxyIP=0.0.0.0
    SipProxyPort=5080
    [3CXTunnel\Logger\Outputs\]
    debug=1
    LogFile=1
     
  11. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks very much but we have the same .ini's and it still fails.

    Do you have any Tunnel configuration options in your server dialogs?

    In the client bridge logs I see what is below, we have a connection and I see all those dropped notify's - why?

    Where is extension 100, the client is 117 in this case?


    .\ConnMgr.cpp(290) : {08:20:03.859}(Log2):New tunnel connection established to XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:5090
    .\Stack.cpp(269) : {08:20:03.875}(Trace5):The only interface is selected: 127.0.0.1
    .\Bridge.cpp(172) : {08:20:03.875}(Trace5):Got from stack:
    SIP/2.0 200 OK
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 127.0.0.1:5080;branch=z9hG4bK-d87543-422a3b0a1802ad6d-1--d87543-;rport=5080
    Contact: <sip:100@127.0.0.1:5070>
    To: "3CXPhone"<sip:100@3CXPhoneSystem>;tag=eb4d2110
    From: "VoIPClientsBridge"<sip:3CXTunnel@127.0.0.1:5080>;tag=af3d66601452
    Call-ID: NDI1MDMwNDIxN2ZkOGY4MzZjMTNkMGViNWEzYzExM2I.
    CSeq: 35 NOTIFY
    User-Agent: 3CX Phone v5.1
    Content-Length: 0

    .\Bridge.cpp(195) : {08:20:03.875}(Trace5):Dropped response to local NOTIFY
    .\Stack.cpp(269) : {08:20:03.875}(Trace5):The only interface is selected: 127.0.0.1
    .\Bridge.cpp(172) : {08:20:03.875}(Trace5):Got from stack:
    SIP/2.0 200 OK
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 127.0.0.1:5080;branch=z9hG4bK-d87543-fa34de6932375f53-1--d87543-;rport=5080
    Contact: <sip:100@127.0.0.1:5070>
    To: "3CXPhone"<sip:100@3CXPhoneSystem>;tag=c82a1d75
    From: "VoIPClientsBridge"<sip:3CXTunnel@127.0.0.1:5080>;tag=66539757fe23
    Call-ID: ZjM5NjFlN2IzODE2MDIwNGQxMDQ3ZmFkMWQ5NjhmZDE.
    CSeq: 35 NOTIFY
    User-Agent: 3CX Phone v5.1
    Content-Length: 0


    .\Bridge.cpp(195) : {08:20:03.875}(Trace5):Dropped response to local NOTIFY
    .\ConnMgr.cpp(340) : {08:20:04.109}(Log2):Tunnel disconnected: XXX.XXX.XX.XXX:5090
     
  12. polyphemos

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, are you saying that 100 is not your actual extension number? Then you need to double-check that you really have entered the correct extension in the tunnel connection. If you are using credentials for ext 117, no wonder that the client does not succeed in registering ext 100.
     
  13. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    The extension 100 is some sort of internal tunnel communication, I don't have one.

    Mine is 117 you can see it connects sucessfully higher up in the dialogs.

    117 registers esily with XP's VPN or with standard UDP ports - no issues.

    This is s 3CX server bug for sure so I repeat the question.

    In the latest build, do any of you have server dialogs for the tunnel and if so where?

    Les
     
  14. demonofsteel

    demonofsteel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the latest build because I get an error while updating to 4287, but it isn't there in build 4128. The only tunnel option I saw in build 4128 was the password.

    But even if I have 4128, my tunnel works. Not always tough, I sometimes need to login a few times without changing a single thing to be able to logon.

    What build are you using?
     
  15. polyphemos

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt this. I cannot find any dummy extensions anywhere in my logs, only the extensions actually in use. I strongly suspect this is the root of your problems.

    The server-side tunnel log is with the others in [server-directory]\data\logs
     
  16. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Polyphemos thaks for the advice but I don't have an extension 100 anywhere in the client.

    A dialog means menus in teh server browser interface. I have tried teh tunnel in BOTH the current and last release and on BOTH ocassions there is no connection AND there are no tunnel menus not even a port numbers as other users report. (Currently on 4028)

    Unfortunatly I have to conclude that this feature has critical bugs and it has something to do with servers who have been "upgraded" over time as that option menu is'nt there at all.

    There server logs have only three lines in them, the same three on every restart, no conversations.

    .\main.cpp(116) : [2008/03/31 >>
    06:02:13.145](Log2):*** Starting bridge ***
    .\main.cpp(117) : [06:02:13.145](Trace5):Loading settings from C:\Program Files\3CX PhoneSystem\Bin\3CXTunnel.ini
    .\Stack.cpp(328) : [06:02:13.155](Trace5):Iface info read: idx=2; ip=192.168.0.10; mask=0xffffff00
    .\Stack.cpp(328) : [06:02:13.155](Trace5):Iface info read: idx=1; ip=127.0.0.1; mask=0xff000000
     
  17. respecte

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are the specific builds that work on both sides of the deployment - client and server. For those that have been successful, can you state them thus? Regards.
     
  18. mandev

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    This problem is now solved.

    I simply upgraded to the new server release and everything worked WITHOUT any alteration. The upgrade was by backup, product uninstall and then retore. Suddenly there were Tunnel menu's for the passwords.

    So DONT trust that auto update and now I'd say the Clinet works as well or better than any other softphone I have, very happy.
    Does anybody want to see "push to talk" technology in this client?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.