Tunnel works 100%

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jantoney, Feb 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jantoney

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well lets not all be negative!...

    I have been contacted by landfiets via MSN today (tonight for him) and we did a little testing with the tunnel.
    He has a 3CX server in Nieuweschans (Netherlands) and I am in Adelaide (Australia)

    On his router he opened up port 5090 (default tunnel port) and forwarded it to his 3CX server.
    He then setup an extension for me and gave me the username/password/external IP.

    On the Linksys SPA9xx phones you go...
    - ADMIN login
    - Advanced
    - EXT 1
    - Fill in the following fields
    ---> SIP PORT = 5060
    ---> PROXY = External IP
    ---> OUTBOUND PROXY = External IP
    ---> USE OUTBOUND PROXY = YES
    ---> USER ID = Extension Number
    ---> PASSWORD = Password for the extension

    Press save all changes and the phone reboots.
    First time it connected to his 3CX server and i dialed his internal extension.

    THE CALL QUALITY WAS 100% with very very very little delay!

    our ADSL details are below..
    CLIENT - (Mine)
    DOWNLOAD 19000 Kbps
    UPLOAD 2500 Kbps

    SERVER (his)
    DOWNLOAD 8000 Kbps
    UPLOAD 1000 Kbps


    Congrats to 3CX and the team on this one!
    Half way around the world and works sooo well!



    PLEASE dont post errors on the tunnel on this post... create a new post for that...
    PLEASE only post good working configs here!
    eg.. for Grandstream phones etc...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. BJReplay

    BJReplay New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jay, that's the same set up I have for my extensions - and as far as I know I haven't set up tunneling, just an external extension (all of my extensions are external). Running 3790 build, but I've never had anything but external extensions even with V3.
     
  3. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose we should offer you full time job here in 3CX. May be you will finally unleash your whip, put development slaves to galeras, cut their ratios twice, and show us how to make stable software. By the way, do you have any management experience in software development?

    Don't get me wrong.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. silentfun

    silentfun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there anyone who know hardware phones that supports VPN ( i mean that include a VPN client by them selfe ?)

    i thought only softphones can use the tunnel if the have a build in vpn client or if you have a compatible vpn client in your router to do this work for all your phones ?

    anyone that can give some more info about this ?

    Andy
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jantoney

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    Tunneling doesn't rely on VPN. Thats the whole point of it.
    The tunneling enables 3CX to communitcate via a single port.

    The only real thing that the client needs to be able to support is a outbound proxy.
    See the first post for setup instructions for linksys phones...
    If anyone else has it working please post your configs...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. rico06

    rico06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I did everthing post to setup my linksys SPA921 external bur it doesnt work.

    The phone registered but I see in a log the local ip adress !
    Is there also something to setup in the SIP windows (STUN, SIP port min max, RTP port min max) ?

    Could you send me the complete setup because it is now a week I try to use it without good result

    thank you
     
  7. Cjay

    Cjay New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried the tunnel using just the 3cx VoIP Client (as a softphone) and all I get in the 3cx server tunnel log is:

    .\ConnMgr.cpp(161) : [15:33:59.425](Critical0):Tunnel connection authentication failed! Incoming from xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:4763

    The log fills up fast with similar entries - about one every 3 seconds. The port number increments by 1 or 2 for every log entry.

    I don't know if this connection problem is the result of some oddity on the firewall at my work location, anyone else got the tunnel working using the 3cx soft phone client?

    Thks,
    Cjay
     
  8. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it's authentication of connection. Check passwords in ini file on both ends, they should match. Also, check that you have the same version of tunnel. Build 1.0.36 is one that checking authentication, previouse builds do not have such functionality and will not connect to more recent versions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Cjay

    Cjay New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Archie,
    I agree that it looks like an authentication issue, but both passwords match in the .ini files and both 3cxtunnel.exe versions are 1.0.0.36

    I'm not at the office at the moment - but is there anything that would stop the tunnel working if both client & server are on the same LAN subnet? Makes it much easier to debug having both machines in front of me.
    Regds,

    Chris

    << I've just answered my own question: The tunnel does work if both devices are on the same LAN subnet, so that bit of it is working fine with all traffic on port 5090 >> :lol:
     
  10. matthijsolislagers

    matthijsolislagers New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    #10 matthijsolislagers, Feb 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 21, 2017
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.