Two companies, share on VOIP infrastructure?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by rstille, Jan 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rstille

All, in a unique situation, and need your advice on configuration / setup ....

We have two companies sharing the same office space, and hence phone closet. We currently have 8 analog PSTN lines coming in from CBeyond communications.

We would like to share as much infrastructure as possible, but preserve the identity to the external world of two unique companies.

I have done, and continue to do, as much research as I can on my own. But I am new to all of this ...

Currently, there is NO analog pbx. the PSTN lines are sent directly to individual analog phones in the office

I would like to operate the PSTN side as follows:

Company A
    3 PSTN lines, connected to a 3CX server via VOIP FXO Gateway (Thinking about a Grandstream 410x)
    1 PSTN line - I would like to make this dedicated inbound only

Company B
    3 PSTN lines, connected to a 3CX server via VOIP FXO Gateway (Thinking about a Grandstream 410x)
    1 PSTN line - I would like to make this dedicated inbound only

The phones we are considering are Polycom IP 500's ... the price is right (they are free!)

Question is as follows ...

A) Can we share a single Grandstream 4108 (or similar) device, and somehow use the SIP profiles to delineate/route traffic to the correct 'set' of phones (company A vs B)?
    B) Can we share a single 3CX server? I'm thinking 'yes' ... that we can use the autoattendant feature to create two separate directories, based on the number dialed, and route that number to the proper autoattendant.

What am I missing?

Randy

2. rstille

UPDATE:

After talking with my CBeyond rep, we may not need the gateway device at all.