Two external phones on same connection

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Sha1a, May 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, 

    I have a Cisco 7940 connected to our server from my home office, everything works perfect. I now have the need for two phones in my home office. I purchased a second phone, a Cisco 7945G. I have configured it fine and both phones are showing as registerd on the server and can make out going calls fine. However incoming calls are now failing. Now when you call either extension set up in my home office you get a "called number does not exsist" message. 

    The server log is saying that the extension cannot be found. 

    Any ideas? I'm an guessing it's a port issue?  

    Thanks in advance for any help. 
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,367
    Likes Received:
    228
    It could be a port conflict if both phones are at a remote location behind a router. In that case you have to be sure that each one has a unique port number and you have STUN enabled. If both are on the same LAN as 3CX then it won't matter as each will have a unique IP.
     
  3. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    one phone will need to be 5060 and the other will need be 5061. or setup the proxy.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would I be naive in thinking that this is as simple as telling one phone to use 5061 in it's configeration and opening it on the firewall like iv had to for 5060?
     
  5. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have changed all 5060 ports to 5061 in the configuration file for the 7945. Opened 5061 on the server and on home office router, also pointed it at phones LAN IP.

    The phone now does not register.

    Thanks for any help or suggestions.
     
  6. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, had a play...

    7940 is set up using 5060 - all working fine, sound and calls both ways.

    7945 is set up using sipport 5061, voipcontrolport 5061, and proxy port 5060 - registered fine sounds both ways. But if you call it from any other ext, the message "called number does not exist" is back.

    Really doing my head in now!
     
  7. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you post a log of an extension calling it. it may still be the proxy port being 5060.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    21:32:24.967 [CM503008]: Call(9): Call is terminated
    21:32:20.450 Session 113 of leg C:9.1 is confirmed
    21:32:20.036 [CM503007]: Call(9): Device joined: sip:EndCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=2a59c8af3babcd2a
    21:32:20.034 [CM503007]: Call(9): Device joined: sip:123@remoteip:5062;transport=udp
    21:32:20.031 [MS210005] C:9.1:Answer provided. Connection(proxy mode):serverip:9022(9023)
    21:32:20.027 [MS210001] C:9.3:Answer received. RTP connection[unsecure]: 127.0.0.1:40624(40625)
    21:32:20.026 Remote SDP is set for legC:9.3
    21:32:20.022 [CM503002]: Call(9): Alerting sip:EndCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=2a59c8af3babcd2a
    21:32:19.828 [CM503025]: Call(9): Calling Unknown:Ext.EndCall@[Dev:sip:EndCall@127.0.0.1:40600;rinstance=2a59c8af3babcd2a]
    21:32:19.827 [MS210004] C:9.3:Offer provided. Connection(proxy mode): 127.0.0.1:7014(7015)
    21:32:19.817 [CM503016]: Call(9): Attempt to reach <sip:121@serverip> failed. Reason: Not Found
    21:32:19.813 [CM503003]: Call(9): Call to sip:121@serverip has failed; Cause: 404 Not Found; from IP:2.126.41.149:49218
    21:32:19.734 [CM503025]: Call(9): Calling Ext:Ext.121@[Dev:sip:121@remoteip:5061;transport=udp]
    21:32:19.732 [MS210002] C:9.2:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): serverip:9024(9025)
    21:32:19.687 [CM503004]: Call(9): Route 1: Ext:Ext.121@[Dev:sip:121@remoteip:5061;transport=udp]
    21:32:19.685 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:121@serverip>
    21:32:19.685 [MS210000] C:9.1:Offer received. RTP connection: remoteip:27946(27947)
    21:32:19.683 Remote SDP is set for legC:9.1
    21:32:19.683 [CM505001]: Ext.123: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Cisco;Mod: 7940;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, unable-no-sdp, no-recvonly] UserAgent: [Cisco-CP7940G/8.0] PBX contact: [sip:123@serverip:5060]
    21:32:19.678 [CM503001]: Call(9): Incoming call from Ext.123 to <sip:121@serverip>
    21:32:19.670 [CM500002]: Info on incoming INVITE:
    INVITE sip:121@serverip SIP/2.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP remoteip:5062;branch=z9hG4bK2b8fb117
    Max-Forwards: 70
    Contact: <sip:123@remoteip:5062;transport=udp>
    To: <sip:121@serverip>
    From: "123"<sip:123@serverip>;tag=00115c98c01602942237cc6d-1b9547a4
    Call-ID: 00115c98-c0160011-4996d1c1-198d10d4@remoteip
    CSeq: 102 INVITE
    Expires: 180
    Accept: application/sdp
    Allow: ACK, BYE, CANCEL, INVITE, NOTIFY, OPTIONS, REFER, REGISTER, UPDATE
    Date: Thu, 19 May 2011 20:32:19 GMT
    Proxy-Authorization: Digest username="123",realm="3CXPhoneSystem",uri="sip:121@serverip",response="5cd1f33dbf72bfdffc213d20ffc12b7c",nonce="414d535c03e60f5396:f5dfe270dce9593e5ed2ff9b09bba4b7",algorithm=MD5
    Supported: replaces, join, norefersub
    User-Agent: Cisco-CP7940G/8.0
    Content-Length: 0
    Remote-Party-ID: "123" <sip:123@serverip>;party=calling;id-type=subscriber;privacy=off;screen=yes

    Thanks for any help you can give!
     
  9. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone see my problem in the log I posted?

    Thanks for any help in advance.
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,367
    Likes Received:
    228
    Is this the IP and port that Ext 121 is actually registering with?
     
  11. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct IP, port is set to 6051 for ext 121, so no I haven't set that port up anywhere...
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,367
    Likes Received:
    228
    It (the remote phone) may be set to port 6051, but what port shows up in the registration message in the 3CX log? If it is 6051 then you need to figure out why 3CX thinks to use port 49218 shown in the failure message (your router?). If it registers with port 49218, then for some reason, when 3CX replies to that, a translation is not taking place (your router?) to get the message to port 6051 at the far end.
     
  13. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    10:05:16.884 [CM504001]: Ext.126: new contact is registered. Contact(s): [sip:126@2.126.41.149:5062;transport=udp/126]
    10:04:53.165 [CM504001]: Ext.121: new contact is registered. Contact(s): [sip:121@2.126.41.149:5061;transport=udp/121]

    Both seem to register fine? Thank for your help. (EXT 123 is now 126, that has been changed for another reason. Same problem is present though.)
     
  14. joshhough

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,

    I was having the same problem. I didn't want to use the proxy to tried doing different ports etc, but it turns out the proxy is so easy to use and works well that i would suggest you just use that instead.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I am willing to try anything! (I have on order a new router and modem to replace the current Sky Broadband Router.)

    Could you explain how to use/configure the proxy method for the Cisco 7940 & 7945?

    Iv only ever used it with the soft phone.

    Thanks
     
  16. nbailey

    nbailey Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    here is the guide to setup the SIP Proxy Manager from 3CX. http://www.3cx.com/blog/releases/sip-proxy-manager/
    It will help you overcome the issues you are having and is the preferred method for remote extensions.
    Good luck!!

    Regards,
    Nate
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Have had another go at the problem with a new router running dd-wrt connected to a standalone Netgear ADSL+2 modem.

    Both phones are connected, 7040ext125 on port 5061 and 7945ext126 on port 5062. Both phones have sound both ways. Both accept incoming/outgoing calls from other extensions and external lines with sound. However when one phone (ext126) calls the other (ext125) there is no sound.

    They both have NAT enabled and working, they both register with the proxy on port 5060.

    Any ideas how to solve this problem ?

    Thanks,
    Henry
     
  18. joshhough

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem. However for some reason, restarting the remote server (not just 3cx) fixed it. Let me know how you get on.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Sha1a

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    All fixed....

    Main problem was using a Basic Router provided by Sky in the external office...

    Installed a Netgear Modem and a Open Source Asus Router with DD-WRT loaded, Fixed all the NAT problems of only being able to have one phone fully working.

    Sound between the two external Cisco's was simply fixed by setting in their extension options, "PBX Delivers Audio."

    Thanks to everyone that helped, very happy its all working now. Happy to help anyone that wants the same set-up.
     
  20. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just an idea -- try the following: if you are using 3CX version 10 and have set the 'ALLOWSOURCEASOUTBOUND' parameter to 1 (default), try NOT using STUN server at remote extensions configuration (this will work with most NAT environments). Check to see the address:port of remote extensions registered in 'Phones' status in 3CX server. If you have the external address:port of remote extensions registered correctly, you should be able to perform everyrhing you like - incoming, outgoing calls, transfers, forwards, calls between remote extensions, etc.

    It is OK remote extensions to keep their SIP port 5060 (default) or change it to 5061, 5062, etc. (this will depend on remote NAT).

    The safest option is to use 3CX proxy server at the remote location or other VPN tunnel between the 3CX server site and the remote site, if possible.

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.