Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

UK Ringing Tone/Cadence

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mesh, Oct 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mesh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys,

    I'm looking for help changing the ringing tone/cadence on the 3CX phone system to a UK based one as are UK based.

    I know the cadence and the format I need to put into the system but I have no idea where to put it. Anyone done this before?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    329
    It depends on what tones you are referring to. If the tone is one supplied by a SIP device, then the setting is in the device.
     
  3. mesh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm refering to the tone a caller hears when they ring into the 3CX system. I get an American style cadence no matter what rules I have set (deliver to extension, deliver to digital receptionist etc). So I am assuming it is not supplied by a SIP device but rather the 3CX system?

    Example.

    08000 365 247 is set to ring ext 801 which is a digital receptionist who answers with a "Welcome to.."

    So when I ring from off net (mobile phone) I get <american ring> <american ring> "Welcome to"...

    I guess its got to be set somewhere internally on 3CX?
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,105
    Likes Received:
    329
    I would have thought that when the UK prompt set was chosen, then the UK type ring-back (or engaged) tone would also be selected. I had a quick search for .wav files (which is the format I would suspect it to be in) on my PC running 3CX but nothing obvious stood out as a possible ring-back tone (without listening to all of them). Perhaps this was something overlooked or there is another more involved way of changing it. I know that when I have been in the UK and phoned various companies, it has not been uncommon to receive a North American ring-back tone while being transferred, so it may not be that unexpected by your callers.

    I can understand the desire to change it but how to do that may require an answer from someone at 3CX.
     
  5. mesh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. Where is this setting you mention? I don't recall seeing anything like that
     
  6. mesh

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found the prompt set, still American ring tone :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.