unicode strings

Discussion in 'CRM / Helpdesk / App Integration' started by TWU, Apr 7, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TWU

    TWU

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello,
    my VAD code is querying a database table with UTF-8 encoding.
    How can a save unicode string variables in 3CX VAD?

    Thanks!
    Thomas
     
  2. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    115
    Hi Thomas,

    What version of the VAD are you using?

    There were some problems with unicode characters in old versions, but currently it should be possible. If you're having problems with the latest version, please let us know exactly what you're doing so we can check your scenario.

    Kind regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. TWU

    TWU

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your reply!
    My VAD version is 14.0.4141.0.
    My scenario:
    Reading customer names and phone numbers from MS SQL Server database and forward incoming calls to extensions of the customer's assigned support employees. This works perfect by the way.
    But the names are in UTF-8 encoding in the database, we have customers all around CEE.
    And should be in Unicode in VAD strings, too.
    But they look like this:
    "M�ller Marc"
    "F�rber Jakob"
    "Penn Sch�lwerk Gmbh"
    instead of:
    "Müller Marc"
    "Färber Jakob"
    "Penn Schälwerk GmbH"

    I read from the SQL table with this query:
    select Person, Company, RoutingDestination from Customers where RIGHT(CallerID,8) = RIGHT({0},8)
    and receive query results with: GET_TABLE_CELL_VALUE(SearchPerson.QueryResult,0,0)
    and store it in a string variable: project$.CallerName
    I did not find any VAD setting for Unicode characters.

    Thank you!
    Thomas
     
  4. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    115
    Hi Thomas,

    Thanks for the feedback, this might be a bug.

    What are you doing with the name later on? Are you using text to speech to play it somewhere in the callflow? Or you just see the invalid name in the debug information?

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. TWU

    TWU

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,
    the names are not for debugging, but for further workflow and documentation.
     
  6. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    115
    OK, but what do you do with them? Do you send them to a web service for example? I would like to have a complete idea of your workflow, so we make the fixes and test it using the same flow that you're using, so we confirm that this is fixed.

    Thanks for your valuable feedback.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. TWU

    TWU

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,
    we send the names via e-mail for notification and write them to a csv file for documentation.
    In both cases the names are not unicode encoded.
     
  8. edossantos

    edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    115
    Hi Thomas,

    This is confirmed to be a bug. The fix will be available in the next release of the 3CX VAD.

    Kind regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.