Update to v14 SP2 Problems

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by stevens, Dec 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stevens

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have just attempted to update v14 to SP2. I made a backup and stored this in the default location on the server (C:\ProgramData\3CX\Instance1\Data\Backups) I then ran the uninstall wizard and then re-installed 3CX v14 SP2, however once i logged in, all the backups files had been deleted... WHY? How i can restore this backup with out having to reconfigure my system.

    I find it irritating that the system requires you to make a backup to install SP2, however the default location of backups are deleted during this process??
     
  2. AlexanderHanna

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes, your backups will be deleted as you are removing the 3CX install folders and files where the backup path is also located. What I have always done with my installs is to change the default backup path to one that is outside of the 3CX install folders. This way, if I had to uninstall and then reinstall, I would just point the backup path to where I have my backup files.

    A better way for 3CX to do this is to not set the default backup path but allow you to enter one the very first time you do a backup. I see this as a design flaw.

    Hope you have a previous backup of your system somewhere.

    Alexander
     
  3. stevens

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I have come to the realization that my previous backup file is gone. I do however have a backup file from when I went to 12.5 > 14. However now trying to restore this I am getting "The request failed with HTTP status 404: Not Found". Found previous forums regarding this, so trying to implement these fixes.

    I should of just left it alone!
     
  4. AlexanderHanna

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    10
    A next thing I do is to copy the backup file to a compete different machine every once in a while just in case the PBX box fails and it is no longer accessible. This way, I can get my standby backup machine, and restore using the backup. Has saved me on two occasions!

    All the best.
     
  5. 12494

    12494 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    25
    We always backup locally and offsite or offmachine. If you only have one backup - you aren't safe - as you know.

    Allen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.