Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Upgrading to v15 + extensions amount

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by daktur, Feb 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daktur

    daktur New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi all,

    I will upgrade my v14 sp3 to v15 due of this tunnel issue that is causing my clients a lot of instability.

    While installing the new version, I want to upgrade the extensions from 999 to the maximum amount possible.

    Does anyone knows how the system will handle this upgrade when I restore backup?

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    You would have to export the extension list, create a new PBX. Select 5 digits.
    Update the Export with the new extensions, and import it.
    The issue will be the loss of Voicemails and recordings.

    AFAIK, 3cx has no supported mechanism to change from 3 to 4 or 5 digit extensions or downgrade to 2 digit extensions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. daktur

    daktur New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have just updated and actually when restoring and existing backup it does not let you change the extensions length.

    I hope they enable this change online without reinstalling soon.
     
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    535
    As of now there is no such functionality. To change the extension length you need to install from scratch and follow the procedure that craigreilly mentioned above for your extensions.
     
  5. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    That is exactly what I said. The option was to EXPORT the extension list and import it on a fresh install.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.