Uploading new dailplan for Cisco 7940 for immediate dialing

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by qsjam, Oct 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qsjam

Hi, apologies for any errors in explanation or ignorance of facts, I'm new to the voip world!

We are investigating swapping our old analogue pbx with a voip system and I like 3CX because, A its windows based and B the control interface seems very user friendly. + all the extra functions.

We bought some old 7940s and downloaded the free software to do testing with and I've successfully converted them to SIP and got them connected to 3cx and they are dialing fine, so now I'm trying to fine tune some settings.

At the moment I have to press 'dial' or '#' after typing an extension number in order to start it dialing (or wait 10 seconds then it auto dials) and I need to change this (as staff are not used to doing this & it will upset them!).

After doing some research I found I could create a rule in the dial plan to accomplish this?
    Something along the lines of <TEMPLATE MATCH="3..." Timeout="0" User="Phone"/>

Or [2-8]xx to dial 3 number extensions straight away (though not sure how to convert this to code?).

My problem is how do I re-upoad the dial plan to the phones? I have added the code to the 'cisco_dialplan.xml' file and tried to TFPT it via the 'put file' in Pumpkin but it just times out? Do I have to remove the sip firmware and then put it back on?

Any help would be great! Thanks

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

Re: Uploading new dailplan for Cisco 7940 for immediate dial

I was successful in getting a dialplan to work with a 7961, but did not try with a 7960. The 79X0 sets make use of cnf files, so watch the tftp server upon booting the set to see if it actually looks for a dialplan.xml file to download. The cnf file may have to be modified to tell it to download a dialplan file. Something like... <dialTemplate>dialplan.xml</dialTemplate>