Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Using BLF for paging/intercom

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by edarring, Dec 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edarring

I've searched the forums and haven't found this question, so I'll ask. I'm fairly new to 3CX, so I appreciate the help.

I would like to set up BLF/DSS buttons to call other extensions, however, I would like them to page the extension instead of just call the extension as the default. Doing so allows the caller to immediately converse with the called person without their having to physically answer the call.

I can program the BLF with a speed dial that includes the *9 (such as *9101), but then the BLF key doesn't light up with the extension status like it does when you just put the extension in.

What would be nice is a system-wide method to tell 3CX that when I push the BLF key, it should page the extension, not call the extension. So the default internal call type would be a page instead of a call--and maybe the *9 then does the opposite, calling the extension instead of paging. Make sense?

Does anyone know a way to accomplish that without losing the other BLF features?

Thanks!

2. craigreilly

craigreilly Well-Known Member

Many people might consider this a security/privacy concern. You might not know someone is listening to your every word... Not good if you are talking company financials,or hr matters.

Just my 2 cents.

Can you make the phone auto answer internal calls? Not sure what phone handset you are using.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cobaltit

cobaltit Well-Known Member

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. edarring