V15 - iPad Pro - iOS 10.2 - Ringer Issue

Discussion in 'iOS' started by Alex Sch, Dec 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alex Sch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I first start 3CX on my iPad i have no issues making or receiving calls. However after a minute or two of 3CX running in the background when I receive calls I can see the call coming in on my iPad but there is no audible ringtone. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    67
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Alex Sch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's correct. My iPad doesn't even need to be locked.
     
  4. Alex Sch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would be happy to show you the issue. It is very easy to reproduce.
     
  5. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    67
    That ringtone is not played by the 3CX client, is played by the iOS.
    But, now it comes in my mind: when the second call is incoming (the one you don't hear the ringtone) there is already a call established?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Alex Sch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The call is not established. The iPad is either idle or locked.
     
  7. Alex Sch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still having this issue. Some help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  8. StefanW

    StefanW Head of Customer Support and Training
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    87
    I guess you have disabled the push sounds? heck settings - notifications - 3cx client - sounds
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Alex Sch

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is enabled.. As a test i disabled the setting and it is the same issue as if the setting doesn't do anything.
     
  10. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    67
    Surprise!!!

    The 3CX client on my IPad Pro now started to have exactly the same problem. The (good) thing is the Face Time too has exactly the same behavior, which confirms what I told you earlier, the ringtone is not played by the client but by the iOS.

    So, the behavior is as follows, for both 3CX client and the Face Time:
    - when device is unlocked, no matter the app is in foreground, background or exited, the ringtone is OK; once the device is locked, no matter app is in background or exited, there is no ringtone.
    - Device's DND is OFF, device's Mute is OFF, device's volume is 50%, device's Settings/Sounds/Ringer volume is 50%, for both app's Notification Sounds is enabled...

    But no sound on locked screen. So far I wasn't able to figure out what the problem is; searching Google about "Facetime doesn't ring on iPad" only revealed that we are just new members of a very large community.

    Well, if/when I will have some news, I will keep you informed.

    Happy New Year, everybody!
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi @Alex Sch
    In case you still follow this topic - well, good news: on my iPadPro 10.3.2, the ringtone on locked screen is back, for both 3CX client and Facetime. Don't ask me when this happened - I have no idea, I just observed now :)
    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.