v4 and g729

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Urbok, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Urbok

    Urbok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    is 3cx v4 beta working with g729? can I install v4 to test g729 codec?
     
  2. Mori

    Mori New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi.

    g729 is only in paid version.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which kind of tests, related to G729, you are planning to perform against version 4?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Urbok

    Urbok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    in italy ADSL with 256kbit upload is the standard in hi speed comunication.
    Provider as Eutelia uses g729 as standard (for bandwidth usate propouse).

    I've trived G711 and GSM with 3cx but with bad results (g711 too much
    bandwidth and GSM too poor quality....)

    I need to test G729 to complete the tests (and compare Eutelia directly connected VS 3cx.)
     
  5. weebnuts

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    btw how do you know which codec the system is actually using?
     
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you expect better quality from G279?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Urbok

    Urbok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    from g729 I expect better voice quality (thanks to the voice predict feature of this codec) with less bandwith (8kbps each channel)

    I'm monitoring the router with a packet sniffer and I'm calculating the amount of voice packets during conversation.

    actualy I'm using GSM with poor voice quality.
    Codecs supported by Eutelia is: G711 G729 GSM. No ILBC... I was courous also about the performance of this codec.....
     
  8. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you expect better performance from G729?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Urbok

    Urbok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I expect also more CPU usage on the server with G729...
     
  10. Urbok

    Urbok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I expect higher cpu usage but better voicequality performance with less bandwidth.
     
  11. todd

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    me too!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.