• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Viatalk questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

tcat

Reaction score
Newbie here... I looked through the list of "tested" VOIP providers and didn't see anyone with Viatalk listed. I know very little about this stuff so wanted a few pointers. I have an Optimus-V (Virgin Mobile), Android 2.2. At home I get no 3G reception and would like to make and receive calls via my WiFi network. I have Viatalk with PAP2 connected to a Linksys router.

Can I install 3CX on my Optimus, configure it with Viatalk (I have phone#, PW, and SIP proxy server). Can I have incoming calls ring both my cell and my home phones? Can I make calls from either? Can my cell ring (on WiFi) if someone calls my cell#? Yeah, I pay $12/mo for Viatalk and there are "free" ways to make calls, but I've been with Viatalk 4 years without any lost calls or problems.... hard to give it up until I know something cheaper works as well.

My cell is currently set to make all calls with GV. Will this change? Just looking for my options and best way to get started. Thanks in advance!

Just installed 3CX android version on my Motorola Atrix and it works fine fine with outgoing calls, but I have not been able to receive calls. I use Viatalk and it was very easy to set it up. It connects very quickly and is a seamless operation on the mobile phone with both 3G and wireless. I don't know if it is a settings problem or the actual phone itself, as it is new hardware running Android version 2.2.1. Viatalk works perfectly with the 3CX softphone application on my desktop, both in and out. Much better than Xlite 4 or ExpressTalk. It also connects instantly where as the other two take about 15 seconds to ring through.

tcat said:
Can I install 3CX on my Optimus, configure it with Viatalk (I have phone#, PW, and SIP proxy server).

It can't hurt to try.

tcat said: