Virtualize multi-tenant edition

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by new29, Apr 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. new29

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    We virtualize *all* of our servers for a number of reasons. One critical reason is that we can quickly recover a server in the event of hardware failure. We want to deploy 3cx as a hosted service and we understand we can easily virtualize individual instances. However, we've been told that 3cx multi-tenant edition should be on a stand alone server. While we have no problem with that, we'd like to virtualize the server, first. I should mention we are a VMware partner and would use ESX for the virtualization layer. Has anyone done this? If so, any gotchas we should know about?

    Thanks.
     
  2. tom_ch

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, we use 2 Hypervisors (Hyper-V) in a high availability cluster.
    Would this be an option for you?
    I don't know much about ESX, but there's VMotion (Live Migration) to build Clusters.

    regards,
    tom
     
  3. new29

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Tom. Are you virtualizing the multi-tenant edition? 3CX doesn't recommend virtualizing that, but I'm not sure why it wouldn't work, especially if it was the only thing on that server.
     
  4. tom_ch

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Yes, multi-tenant is on a virtual Win 2008 Server.
    I'm only in a "Try and Test-Period". But until now, it works fine.
     
  5. muurman

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    We also run it in our datacenter virtual in microsoft hyper-v .
    If you configure ok then only call setup is going through the 3cx. Rtp goes direct from phone to phone or from phone to sip trunk.
     
  6. new29

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    How are you setting up the ftp streams so they go phone to phone (or sip trunk)?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.