Vitelity Provider Setup

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by joshabts, May 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    I am new to 3CX (been using Asterisk forever) and am looking to setup a test server to play with. I am having trouble however getting inbound calls working using Vitelity as a VoIP provider.

    I have set everything up and it is reporting as registered in Line Status, but when I try to make a call to the number of the line, it is failing with CHANUNAVAIL. I have contacted Vitelity and they are reporting that I am not actually registered to their servers at all.

    I have a sneaking suspicion my ISP is blocking port 5060 traffic (seeing as they offer their own VoIP service) and I am wondering what settings I need to set in order to run inbound calls/register through a different port. My outbound and inbound register and proxy are set to vitelity's servers on port 5060 as that is what tehy are expecting but they said I should be able to receive calls on any port I choose.

    Anyone able to get Vitelity working, or any provider working on another port? I tried changing my SIP port in the general settings and restarting but that didn't work.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    254
    Hi,

    Did you run the firewall checker? What was the output?

    Are the lines registered in your line status screen? Can you show the logs of the registration (server status)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    Time  	Function  	Message
    12:20:37.636 	StunClient::onInitTests 	[CM506001]: STUN request to resolve SIP external IP:port mapping is sent to STUN server 64.69.76.23:3478 over Transport 192.168.2.250:60560
    12:02:56.057 	FaxCfg::updateContact 	[CM504010]: Fax Service: unregistered contact sip:888:5100;user=phone
    12:00:47.026 	ClientRegs::onSuccess 	[CM504004]: Registration succeeded for: 10000@Vitelity
    12:00:46.807 	ClientRegs::onSuccess 	[CM504004]: Registration succeeded for: 10001@VitelityAbts
    12:00:46.214 	ClientRegs::Register 	[CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10000@Vitelity
    12:00:46.073 	ClientRegs::Register 	[CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10001@VitelityAbts
    12:00:45.479 	CallMgr::onAddIPs 	IP(s) added:[192.168.2.250]
    12:00:40.448 	ClientRegs::onSuccess 	[CM504004]: Registration succeeded for: 10000@Vitelity
    12:00:40.323 	ClientRegs::onSuccess 	[CM504004]: Registration succeeded for: 10001@VitelityAbts
    12:00:39.917 	ClientRegs::Register 	[CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10000@Vitelity
    12:00:39.854 	ClientRegs::Register 	[CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10001@VitelityAbts
    12:00:39.542 	FaxCfg::updateContact 	[CM504008]: Fax Service: registered as sip:888@192.168.2.250:5060 with contact sip:888@192.168.2.250:5100;user=phone
    12:00:39.245 	ExtnCfg::updateContact 	[CM504001]: Ext.201: new contact is registered. Contact(s): [sip:201@192.168.2.104:52154;rinstance=fcb8250960c6fade/201]
    12:00:38.432 	ListenConnect 	SL: connected media:0/PHPExtension_0 at [media]/PHPExtension_0
    12:00:37.698 	StunClient::process 	[CM506002]: Resolved SIP external IP:port (97.84.6.83:60560) on Transport 192.168.2.250:60560
    12:00:37.573 	StunClient::onInitTests 	[CM506001]: STUN request to resolve SIP external IP:port mapping is sent to STUN server 64.69.76.23:3478 over Transport 192.168.2.250:60560
    That is my Server Status latest output. The lines show as Registered.

    When I run the firewall checker it says passed, but it only tests ports 9000-9015. Seems like it should be checking other things...
     
  4. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,948
    Likes Received:
    254
    Thanks... Could you also send us the server status log when you make an outbound call?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. coelhopsi

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're suspecting your ISP is blocking port 5060, you could also try to test your 3CX system with another VoIP provider that uses port 5060. I think InPhonex has a free service which would allow you to call other VoIP users or make calls to 800 numbers. Give it a try so you can narrow down your problem to determine if it lies on the 3CX system or on the VoIP provider.
     
  6. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    12:51:47.386  	Call::Terminate  	[CM503008]: Call(1): Call is terminated
    12:51:42.745 	MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty 	[MS210003] C:1.1:Answer provided. Connection(transcoding mode):192.168.2.250:7016(7017)
    12:51:42.745 	MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty 	[MS210001] C:1.2:Answer received. RTP connection: 64.2.142.19:15718(15719)
    12:51:42.745 	CallLeg::setRemoteSdp 	Remote SDP is set for legC:1.2
    12:51:42.745 	Line::printEndpointInfo 	[CM505003]: Provider:[Vitelity] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Asterisk PBX] Transport: [sip:192.168.2.250:60560]
    12:51:42.745 	CallCtrl::onAnsweredCall 	[CM503002]: Call(1): Alerting sip:pagethis@inbound6.vitelity.net:5060
    12:51:39.792 	MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty 	[MS210002] C:1.2:Offer provided. Connection(transcoding mode): 97.84.6.83:9002(9003)
    12:51:39.682 	CallCtrl::onSelectRouteReq 	[CM503004]: Call(1): Calling: VoIPline:10000@[Dev:sip:pagethis@inbound6.vitelity.net:5060]
    12:51:39.667 	CallCtrl::onSelectRouteReq 	[CM503010]: Making route(s) to "1616318XXXX"[sip:1616318XXXX@192.168.2.250:60560]
    12:51:39.667 	MediaServerReporting::SetRemoteParty 	[MS210000] C:1.1:Offer received. RTP connection: 192.168.2.104:30982(30983)
    12:51:39.667 	CallLeg::setRemoteSdp 	Remote SDP is set for legC:1.1
    12:51:39.667 	Extension::printEndpointInfo 	[CM505001]: Ext.201: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Counterpath;Mod: X-Lite;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, unable-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [X-Lite release 1011s stamp 41150] Transport: [sip:192.168.2.250:60560]
    12:51:39.636 	CallCtrl::onIncomingCall 	[CM503001]: Call(1): Incoming call from Ext.201 to "1616318XXXX"[sip:1616318XXXX@192.168.2.250:60560]
    12:51:39.636 	CallLeg::onNewCall 	[CM500002]: Info on incoming INVITE:
    INVITE sip:1616318XXXX@192.168.2.250:60560 SIP/2.0
    Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.2.104:27990;branch=z9hG4bK-d87543-282a0e57a835371e-1--d87543-;rport=27990
    Max-Forwards: 70
    Contact: [sip:201@192.168.2.104:27990]
    To: "1616318XXXX"[sip:1616318XXXX@192.168.2.250:60560]
    From: "Joshua Abts"[sip:201@192.168.2.250:60560];tag=b667231c
    Call-ID: NWJmYTUxZWRjNWI0MmFhMjJkYzExNjNmNDQzZDlmMGQ.
    CSeq: 2 INVITE
    Allow: INVITE, ACK, CANCEL, OPTIONS, BYE, REFER, NOTIFY, MESSAGE, SUBSCRIBE, INFO
    Proxy-Authorization: Digest username="201",realm="3CXPhoneSystem",nonce="12855084699:710b7d58e0694b744742326eba1538ca",uri="sip:1616318XXXX@192.168.2.250:60560",response="bfeb16bf5b4ec4ff62fb007a3f239881",algorithm=MD5
    User-Agent: X-Lite release 1011s stamp 41150
    Content-Length: 0
    
    12:51:28.151 	ExtnCfg::updateContact 	[CM504001]: Ext.201: new contact is registered. Contact(s): [sip:201@192.168.2.104:27990;rinstance=1356e55c84d627a7/201]
    12:51:07.870 	ClientRegs::onSuccess 	[CM504004]: Registration succeeded for: 10000@Vitelity
    12:51:07.714 	ClientRegs::onSuccess 	[CM504004]: Registration succeeded for: 10001@VitelityAbts
    12:51:07.214 	ClientRegs::Register 	[CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10000@Vitelity
    12:51:06.995 	ClientRegs::Register 	[CM504003]: Sent registration request for 10001@VitelityAbts
    12:51:06.370 	CallMgr::onAddIPs 	IP(s) added:[192.168.2.250]
    That is the latest with an outgoing call and the sip port left at 60560 instead of 5060 (default).
     
  7. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I've got lost. So does 3CX PBX receives incoming calls on port 60560?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like it to...

    I believe my provider is blocking port 5060. Vitelity reports I am not registered to their servers, but 3CX reports that the registration was successful and the lines shows as registered. I can also make outbound calls, but inbound on those lines reports as CHANUNAVAIL because Vitelity thinks I am not registered and thus cannot locate me...
     
  9. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    But as far as I see from logs you've succesfully managed to put 3CX on port 60560. What stops you from trying incoming calls in such setup?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried incoming calls and it still says CHANUNAVAIL and that I am not registered from Vitelity eventhough 3CX says registration successful and both lines show as registered.
     
  11. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    3CX will tell 'Registered' only if it received 200 OK with contacts in response to REGISTER message. You can check it with some sniffer (f.e. Wireshark). As soon as they responded with 200 OK to our REGISTER - we do believe that we're registered. If they have some more original approach to registration - I would like to know what RFC they are reffering to in this regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    3CX PBX shows "green light" right after foreign system confirms registration.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I have something wrong in my configuration of the provider or line then. Is there anyone out there that uses Vitelity that could post what they did for their configuration?

    I am note really sure what else to try checking next. I can try setting up a packet sniffer as you suggested if you think that may help diagnose what is going on. Or I can try posting the settings suggestion they make for Asterix and from that see if we can come up with the necessary appropriate settings?

    I really appreciate all of the help you guys are giving! I am hoping to get this working as I do like this system a lot.

    Thanks again!
     
  14. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would prefer Wireshark capture.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I am having some trouble trying to capture the data with Wireshark. I haven't used a packet sniffer before. What capture filter would you recommend to show the data? I tried port 5060 and 60560 like I am trying to use and nothing is showing up. Maybe I have to do it from the server itself and not from another machine on the network?

    Thanks again for the help!
     
  16. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would recommend to do unfiltered capture. Or, if there's a lot of other traffic - filter by "udp && (sip || rtp)", or you can even narrow it to "udp && sip" only
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    There will be tons of other traffic as the network is quite extensive. I will do the filter as you suggested later this afternoon. I will post my results back here. I will just start the capture and then restart the services to be sure it captures everything that gets sent.

    Thanks again.
     
  18. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Attached is the output of the trace.

    I see a couple of Unauthorized which makes me wonder if my user and password are incorrect but then later says ok.

    I also don't understand after the ok why it would keep making continuous register requests so close together.

    Hopefully this is any bit enlightening? I will recheck my users and passwords in the meantime.

    Thanks,
    Joshua Abts
     
  19. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, but I can not use that text - I don't see what's inside messages. I need a capture file. Don't worry, I can open it with Wireshark and check.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. joshabts

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.