Voicemail not working

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by cmdowning, Aug 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cmdowning

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just installed the 3CX software, have several extensions setup, and voicemail doesn't work on any of them. It's enabled, and the service is started, but when something is transferred to voicemail, it's just silent. It doesn't disconnect the call, but just sits there doing nothing. Everything else with the system seems to be working ok. Any advice? Thanks.
     
  2. alexmallia

    alexmallia New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have this problem on incoming calls or also on calls between internal extensions too?

    If it is happening on incoming calls, does it happen with a PSTN gateway or a VOIP provider?

    If you dial 999 do you hear any message or you also hear silence?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cmdowning

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you dial 999 (although has been changed to 900 at this point), you do hear something. Although when you hit 9 for more options, you don't hear anything at that point, and changing your message doesn't work.

    It happens from internal and external calls.
     
  4. alexmallia

    alexmallia New Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get technical support on this one, you can contact our technical support (This requires commercial edition with support package). If you have a
    commercial edition, but no support package, you can purchase one here:

    https://erp.3cx.com/orderform/support.aspx

    regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. SWB

    SWB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this happen on all phones, including the client?
     
  6. cmdowning

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does happen on all phones, and happens when an external call is transferred to voicemail.
     
  7. SWB

    SWB New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok how are you transferring the calls to voice mail? Does the log indicate the correct route?

    I ran into a problem with silence when connecting to the conference call prompts. I was connected to the conference call extension, but nothing was played. What I did to rectify it was create a new prompt set and then browse to each of the conference prompts and select them. For whatever reason that worked for me. Don't know as to why it couldn't play the default prompts, especially when I selected the same prompts in my custom prompt set.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.