Voicemail playback adds "and" before number

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ajcke, Oct 26, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ajcke

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since we upgraded to 15.5, when voicemail plays back the system prompt sounds like this: "Message from and 1555...." Is there a way to get rid of the "and"?
     
  2. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,349
    Likes Received:
    274
    Hello @ajcke

    Can you please tell me what prompts you are using so i can try to replicate the issue on my side? Also what PBX version are you on?
    You can see the exact build number on the dashboard next to the licence tab.
     
  3. ajcke

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Version 15.5.5
    How can I get this info? I don't think I'm using anything other than the default prompts.
     
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,349
    Likes Received:
    274
    Please navigate to settings / System prompts and click on manage Prompts sets. A window will pop up which will tell you the Active prompt set.
    From the System Prompt settings menu you can also see if there are any updates for your prompt set and you can also download prompt sets for different languages from the updates section.
     
  5. ajcke

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,349
    Likes Received:
    274
    A media service and an IVR service restart might be required for the new prompts to be loaded so you could try that. I have the exact same prompt set and i cannot replicate the issue. Try leaving a voicemail from a different extension and see if the "and" is also present there.
     
  7. ajcke

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It only occurs when the VM is placed from an external call. Internal calls do not play the "and" before the phone number playback.
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    What format Caller ID are you receiving external numbers? Prefix? You might have to check the Activity Log. Perhaps there is a character, being sent, that does not show on the displays, but is still being detected by 3CX. Did you do any CID formatting?
     
  9. ajcke

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh, You are onto something. All external calls display in the log with a + symbol in front. What would cause that? No CID rules are in the system. Only DID.
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    So your provider is sending a plus (or "and"), as a prefix "digit"? Perhaps by reformatting the CID, you can remove, or prefix with something "usable".

    Or...your provider might be able to remove this, if asked.
     
  11. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,349
    Likes Received:
    274
    Please note that it is the + sign that causes this and we are currently looking into this. Thank you for reporting.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    YiannisH_3CX likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.