VoiceMail Problem

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ecwilson, Feb 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    We just installed 3cx v9 and now the system is not sending out voice mails at all. We have checked our email setting & they
    are setup just like v7 was but it still works but v9 does not? Any one else having this problem? We are running win2008st

    ecwilson
     
  2. cdrichla

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you installed version 9, did you restore a backup of version 7? If so, that may be your problem. I've seen really quirky issues with restoring from backups of older versions especially with a spread of 7 to 9. If the architecture of a specific function has changed significantly, the restored settings may not line up totally.
     
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    I went from 7 to 9 a number of months ago with no issues what so ever, not to say that some could not crop up. You might want to try removing your email settings, applying, then re-entering the settings and applying again. Does the 3CX log give any indications of an email failure or other network issues that could be preventing messages going out?
     
  4. cdrichla

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I've jumped versions before and for the most part it worked. However, I had issues with Exchange connections and a few other things that just didn't work until I pulled all the settings out and reapplied them again. So, I'd agree with leejor that you might have to remove some or all of the email settings and reapply.
     
  5. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, This is a fresh install of v9 plus win2008 on a new server. But I will try to reset the email settings and see
    what happens?

    ecwilson
     
  6. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can test the email connection by sending a welcome email for an extension (preferably to you). It saves waiting for voicemails to come in or keep recording them.

    See if you can telnet on port 25 to the email server from the pbx
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mfm

    mfm Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    3cx is simply not designed to be upgraded in that manner, you will lost most of your settings and make it a bit wonky, Instead of trying to fix something why dont you do it the proper way from start. this way you wont have to trobleshoot a hidden issue.

    V7 > v8 > V9


    5 minute work wil lsave you hours of head scratching.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks mfm but why would I install v7 and go thru all that extra work when this is a fresh install? Also the server that
    is running v7 is still live and will be wiped clean next month. (win2k box) Never the less we still have the same problem
    as before email are not being sent out. I will try to ping out and see what happens. Well nothing worked but we now know
    the last web server cp upgrade changed something because now v7 server will not send out emails. Does any one know
    how to setup 3cx so where it can email thru the google email system?

    ecwilson
     
  9. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    You could have installed ver. 8, then applied your ver. 7 backup, backed up to a new file and then applied that to a ver. 9 install. I know i wasn't supposed to go directly from 7 to 9, but I had nothing to loose (except some time) as i was slill running 7 on a standby machine. If it didn't work I was going to go the ver. 8 step, in between.

    However, from the sounds of it, you have other issues, preventing emails, since the server upgrade. I'm not sure that you will be able to use the google mail SMTP server for outgoing emails as it requires TLS or SSL.

    Here is a link to the site on how to configure other mail programmes to work with Gmail. http://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=13287
     
  10. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    What email server are you using? Is it yours or hosted?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was a new install & a new servers, so going from v7-v8-v9 we thought was not needed. The email server is ours
    (web server) CentOS V5.5/DirectAdmin V3.7 control panel. Yes I know google has a different setup than most email
    systems but I just asked to see if someone had made it work sence we last tried 2 years ago?

    ecwilson
     
  12. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    v7 - v8 - v9 is not needed. I think there was confusion when you mentioned v7 and people thought it an upgrade.

    We dont use CentOS so I cannot comment. I can suggest Telnet on port 25 from the pbx server to the email server to make sure all is ok there. And I can suggest you use a command line to try and send a message too.

    You can also look in the voiceboxmanager log and see if you can see a failed message there.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I will try that and see what happens? I have also noticed that I can't update the software it keeps telling me that
    3CX is up todate?

    Regards
    ecwilson
     
  14. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well we are still having issues for now? :evil:

    Regards
    ecwilson
     
  15. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    But did you try the suggestions we mentioned? If so what were the results.

    If not, do you need help? Do you have paid support? We offer two support offerings, hourly and monthly unlimted. Contact us for more information
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mark Shehan

    We don't have a support plan in place & it seems the problem is with the web server. It is not letting 3cx do a relay to
    client's email address & there was a update to DirectAdmin from v1.36 to 1.37. When we tell 3cx to send email direct
    to the email box on the web server everything works fine. So if we can't figure this out we will need to look at another
    email setup? Telenet to port 25 is fine but I did not check the voiceboxmanager logs yet? What are you using to handle
    emails?

    Regards
    ecwilson
     
  17. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    We are a hosting provider so we use Exchange 2010 SP1.

    Glad to give you some email prices on hosted exchange. And I know it works with 3cx.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can't you set up the email/web server to accept email from the 3cx internal ip (if on the same lan - external otherwise). That wont make it an open relay but does allow relay from the 3cx server. Then make double sure you have no public smtp (or ssl or TLS) access to the 3cx server (no need) so it wont be an open relay.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. ecwilson

    ecwilson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Mark

    Not quite sure how to do that but our 3cx's are based in two different data centers.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Can't you set up the email/web server to accept email from the 3cx internal ip
    (if on the same lan - external otherwise). That wont make it an open relay but
    does allow relay from the 3cx server. Then make double sure you have no public
    smtp (or ssl or TLS) access to the 3cx server (no need) so it wont be an open relay.
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Our email system for all client's is Google Hosted domains & when we looked at MS
    exchange it was a bit pricey for the setup we wanted? For 3 years the whole system
    (3cx/webserver/google) worked just fine. But now I have no hair to pull out but I am
    still pulling anyway. :oops:
     
  20. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    Our pricing starts at $7.50 per mailbox per month for 25Gb, outlook 2010 (or 2011 for mac) and some other nice features including activesync.

    We are about to launch a free version with some limited features too, but we are also launching our VOIP Provider service this month and this is taking a priority.

    Can you look at the 3cx server and in the logs is a voiceboxmanager log. It is a text file. See what it is saying as it should be logging the error from the email server.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.