Voip connections bad to one town?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by tsteffens, Jun 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tsteffens

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am quite a newb when it comes to voip so I am hoping some more experienced folk can answer this for me.

    We have a town close to us that is roughly 700 population so a pretty small town. Voip connections to this town are awful. Most time they will not even connect and when they do they are just terrible quality.

    We have tried 4 different carriers and all perform the same way.

    What is the reasoning for something like this?

    Right now our resolution is to force those numbers to go out our patton 4114 over PSTN and all works great, but we are trying to lower our long distance as we make a lot of calls to this town.
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    206
    Sounds like there is some faulty hardware terminations in that town...
    a tracert might give some indication as to what is going on.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    206
    for some reason - edit button is gone.
    Each tracert might use many of the same endpoints...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    58
    In addition to Craig's input, you might look at the local CLEC. It could be that the local PSTN provider has aged plant/infrastructure that is simply not capable of the conversion. Try some analog based calls to the same numbers to get a reference point.if they have issues, then VoIP has no chance of making it better.
     
  5. tsteffens

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Analog connections to that town using our Patton 4114 work just fine, it is only when we use coop and call their PSTN lines.
     
  6. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    58
    Not sure, but perhaps a call to your SIP provider to enlist their aid may help. You might also consider a wireshark capture or 2 to aid in what is actually transpriring.
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,582
    Likes Received:
    249
    So calls over (some provider) are having the issue. It sounds like "someone" has some noisy T1's/T3's into that town and your calls end up going over them. Dealing with your provider is the best way to track this down. They will have to trace an outbound call from themselves onto the PSTN network. They can then report the noise issue to that provider.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.