VOIP gateways for T1 that work with 3CX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by netswork, Apr 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone have any voip gateways terminating T1 PRI's working with 3CX besides the patton smartnode 4960? The 4960 is a little expensive for our needs of just terminating a single PRI.

    I have read some users getting Cisco routers to work but I can not find a good configuration example for this. My customers have cisco routers anyway, so if I could just add a PRI card and get them working without having to add a separate gateway for PRI termination that would be great.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. smb1

    smb1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Patton 4960
    Sangoma A101

    Are your best bet I understand for T1 PRIs. The Patton kit is top notch and rock solid with excellent support from Patton.
    You get what you pay for as they say.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your reply. The patton 4960 does a lot more than I need. I just need a sip gateway...not an entire network gateway. It just seems crazy to sell a 8 or 16 call 3cx license and then sell a patton that costs twice as much as their phone system to terminate a fractional PRI.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Patton 4940 is launching right now at a lower price and without all the routing/firewall/etc stuff built in. We should have it on our website today sometime.

    Not sure how its crazy that the hardware is more expensive than the software. That is the case with almost all IP PBX systems. You wouldn't think you would get free hardware because you are using open source software would you? So having a very cost effective software platform and having to pay for hardware is rather typical these days.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    Kerry I found the 4940 on your site...but its more than than this 4960
    Patton Smartnode SN4960/1E15V/UI


    What is the difference? What is the most cost effective patton for a single PRI? I dont need any features other than a sip gateway with PRI termination.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1

    I don't expect the hardware to be free, no. But I would like to see more options. Like support for a Cisco router with T1 module. Most customers have cisco routers in place anyway so it would not be a major cost to add a T1 card.

    If someone out there has got a cisco router to work with a PRI as a sip gateway I would be very interested in some configuration examples or documentation. I have been unable to find anything that works.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 4940 is $200 less than the 4960.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is on your site:

    Patton Smartnode SN4940/1E24V/EUI
    Our Price: $2,399.00

    Patton Smartnode SN4960/1E15V/UI
    Our Price: $1,895.00

    What are the differences in these 2?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. kevin

    kevin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there

    This model: Patton Smartnode SN4940/1E24V/EUI
    ...has a single PRI port, and a license for 24 simultaneous voice channels, so is appropriate for a full T1 (but not enough for a full E1).

    ---

    This model: Patton Smartnode SN4960/1E15V/UI
    ...has a single PRI port, and a license for 15 simultaneous voice channels, so is typically appropriate for a fractional T1/E1.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you get one licensed for only 6 channels? We are using a new AT&T product called IPflex, which is a SIP trunk provided by AT&T but they do not support 3CX. Only Cisco, Avaya and Nortel. So my only option is to get a PRI handoff from them but at most of our customers we are going with the minimum of 6 channels. Looking for a cost effective way to terminate a 6 channel PRI.

    I looked into the Vgate from redfone, but once you buy the vgate and then the redfone the prices are similar. Not to mention you need vmware setup to run the vgate on.

    Someone mentioned the sangoma A101. I dont have any experience with PCI based T1 cards, I have used PCI based FXO interfaces in the past on other phone systems with mixed results.

    Anyone using the sangoma A101 and happy with it? Echo Cancellation work well?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. dannybrook

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the A101D with echo cancellation and it's working perfectly for me, including t.38 fax over PRI. The cards all support the same number of channels, it's the Netborder Gateway software that is licensed, however I believe you can use 12 channels using the free version, but you should definitely double check this.

    I just picked up the card and netborder express 30 channel for a little over $1000.

    I'm using telepacific smartvoice which is a SIP delivery method that is then converted to a PRI handoff. Had to do this because Telepacific's SIP does not support 3cx, or vice-versa, but I'm having no issues with the sangoma. Their support is also very helpful.
     
  12. sunstate

    sunstate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will the 4940 take the 3CX 4960 generated config file? If not will we see a 4940 template added in 3CX?

    Is there a plan for a 15 channel 4940?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1

    Danny, thank you very much for your reply. My situation is pretty much the same. AT&T calls it IP flex and its SIP delivery but they dont support 3CX so I have to get the PRI handoff. What do you get with the "netborder gateway" software?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. smb1

    smb1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Patton has a utility to generate a config file for their gateways. It is not as simple as generating it through3CX, but it may do what you need. I don't have the link, but have a look on Patton's website for it and have a go.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. dannybrook

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Netborder Express is what creates the SIP gateway. The 12-channel SOHO version is free and fully functional. Basically you install the card and drivers, then configure the PSTN device in 3cx, export the config file and start up the gateway. The development mode is very handy for debugging both SIP and PRI. Generally speaking, it just works! I've put up some recent posts related to anonymous calls and call-forwarding not showing the right callerid, but these were easy fixes.
     
  16. Discovery Technology

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    A Voip - certified Cisco engineer would find it easy enough to configure a Cisco router to act as a VoIP gateway, as long as you used standard SIP instead of skinny in thte Cisco setup, and had the right IOS version - mind you, I wouldn't use a Cisco router as my ISDN gateway in a pink fit (reliability, complexity issues, etc, etc). I think you'll find that the PRI card for a Cisco router would end up being more expensive than a Patton 15-channel gateway anyway - and, seeing as the config takes about 5 minutes if you know what you're doing, the config time would be cheaper also.

    I'd suggest that you stick with the proven and dead reliable Patton gateways - why mess around with potential reliability issues on a primary rate service? I haven't had any experience with the Sangoma cards as yet, however I suspect that they are probably pretty good also.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. jdoe

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    We are currently using 3CX free version and purchased Dialogic DMG2060 to connect to our pbx. We have tested the 3CX with wireless phones and currently we are testing iPod Touch's. We are still in the testing and tuning phase to see if we can roll out a wireless phone solution.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.