VOIP NOOB

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by gdtms247, Jun 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gdtms247

I'm a network engineer by trade so VOIP itself is not new to me.

I do however have ZERO experience in "residential" solutions and that is what I'm looking at. I want to have 1 phone number at home be connected to 1 IP phone. That's it. this phone will be for account usage when they request your home phone, and back up for cell issues. It won't be my primary number (cell phone paid by work) so i just need something simple sitting at my house to accept calls (not making many calls on it or receiving them for that matter). I have WHS 2011 and windows server 2008 boxes running already and gigabit ethernet everywhere. I can't find a simple "home" solution out there that is cheaper than 20-30 bucks a month for a regular old phone line. Any help in pointing me in the right direction?

J

2. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

If you have an IP phone, or ATA, and either a static public IP or use a dynamic DNS service, you can get a free phone number from IPKall. They are limited Washington state area codes, and they require a call in every 30 days to remain active. They can also be set as an incoming trunk on 3CX. For a single line involving the PBX might be overkill. There might be other "free" numbers available in North America that I'm not familiar with.

3. gdtms247

still missing a part there. IPKALL wants a SIP URI to register. without paying a VOIP service how does it work? who translates the XXX-XXXX into IP?

4. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

Are you going with a VoIP phone/ATA, or with 3CX?

If just a "device", you have to set it to not register, but, allow direct SIP calls. Give it a phone number, this can be anything, but, that number is what is going to be sent by IPKall when you set-up your account.