VoIP provider with no auth

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by extrascope, Apr 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. extrascope

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to configure our VoIP provider on our new 3cx install. However, whether I select generic sip trunk or generic VoIP provider, I am still asked to enter authentication details. Our provider does not require authentication. Please help.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    229
    It might help if you posted the name of the provider, as someone on the forum may also use the same company.

    Most providers require security of some sort, even if registrations isn't a requirement. That might be your fixed IP, or simply your user name (number), along with a password.

    You may try filling in the "required" spaces with redundant data. If it isn't used by your provider, it may just be ignored.
     
  3. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    11
    I put some values because I must, and after that when i created Generic sip trunk/provider under the "Voip providers" I select that voip provider and click "advanced tab" and under "Require registration for:" -> do not require
     
  4. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    just put anything in there and then set the trunk to authentication not required for calls
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    doesn't matter what you put in to authenticate you can simply set "authentication not required for calls"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. extrascope

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help guys. I will test and report back. The provider is gamma.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.