VoiP Providers

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by shuey227, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking to have 4 lines. I'm using Broadvoice (New York), and contacted them to find out how many calls I can make with the 1 line. They had said 1, and if I want more to add more lines.

    If I add more lines, won't my outgoing caller ID will be different each call I make, which isn't ideal.

    I'm curious to what others are doing for 4 lines?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good morning

    I am also using BroadVoice.

    My Broadvoice lines each have 2 channels enabling me to have 2 simultaneous calls on each of the lines.

    So for 4 simultaneous calls I use 2 BroadVoice lines with 2 channels each.

    Take care
     
  3. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    how does that work for incoming calls? i have 1 business phone number. with this scenario would i be only able to handle 2 incoming calls, and 2 outgoing calls at one time?

    thanks for your help
     
  4. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    With one BroadVoice line you can have 2 simultaneous calls.

    Click Manage under Lines on the left of the 3CX management interface.
    Check the BroadVoice Line and then click "Edit Selected".
    Click Other Options
    In the "Maximum simultaneous calls" field enter 2.

    You can now have 2 seperate calls on the same phone line.
    ie. you can handle 2 incomming calls, or 2 outgoing calls or 1 incomming and 1 outgoing call on the same line.

    It is better if you start thinking in terms of channels instead of lines. Some providers actually provide more channels per line then others and some providers have a way to have 10 + channels on a single line.

    Anyhow I hope this helps,

    Take care
     
  5. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe i do understand. and it does help, but at any given time i may have 4 incoming calls or 4 outgoing calls.

    i only have one phone #, which is one channel, so then i can only have 2 incoming calls right? atleast with this scenario...

    am i on the right path?

    i need to have 1 phone number, and 4 incoming and 4 outgoing calls, with a reliable and high quality voip provider.
     
  6. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello

    Whith a VoIP provider that allows 2 channels per line you would need to have 2 lines (2 phone numbers) in order to handle 4 simultaneous calls. It is best to think in terms of 1 call = 1 channel.

    Take care
     
  7. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do understand that.

    what reliable and high quality voip provider (nyc) will provide the ability to have multiple channels with one phone number.
     
  8. Ralph

    Ralph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello again

    I am currently using BroadVoice and Vitelity.

    Both these providers allow up to 2 channels per line.

    There are others available as well:

    Check out the site below:

    http://comparevoipproviders.org/

    There are also other sites that compare providers as well.

    Take care
     
  9. Costas3CX

    Costas3CX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think SIPGATE does this. Why don't you just send an email and verify before getting an account as I am not 100% sure. 1 account/line with 4 channels is what you need basically.
     
  10. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I received this back from sipgate, "unfortunately, we don't offer our service at all in USA"

    any other recommendations?
     
  11. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using nexVortex. With their Business Office & Pro Plan you can have as many incoming and outgoing calls on 1 line. The only problem is there is a set # of outgoing minutes on this plan (1200 & 2000/month). So a busy office with lots of outgoing calls might go over.

    Only limit at that point is bandwidth.
     

Share This Page