VoIP Questions - Gateway/ Codecs/ Phones

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by shuey227, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked for the following information but could only find bits and pieces scattered all around.

    I am looking to setup a VoIP system for a small business, with 3 or 4 phones and 3 or 4 lines. I setup 3cx on a Win2k3 server, using Grandstream 2000 phones, and Broadvoice as the carrier. It all works however the quality is quite poor for business purposes.

    I am using the GSM codec on the phone, but looking on Broadvoice's website they only support G711u, and in the future G726-32 at 32kbps and G729a at 8kbps. My calls are taking between 60 - 80 Kbps, so from what I've read that isn't GSM, which is supposed to be around 20 Kbps.

    Here are my question:

    a) What is the best codec to use for 3-4 lines on a DSL line? Low bandwidth and decent quality...

    b) What VoIP carrier uses those codecs? Which ones are the best (USA New York)

    c) Will the Grandstream 2000 support those codecs? If not, which phones do I need to get?

    Thanks for your help!
    Dale
     
  2. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    check this thread http://www.3cx.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=1902&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=
    There are answers for your questions regarding bandwidth.
     
  3. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i read that forum, but only answers part of the question.
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would suggest you to try direct connection from Grandstream (or softphone) to Broadvoice. It may happen that voice quality is not a problem of PBX, but Broadvoice itself, or your DSL link. Also, in Grandstream settings you can change priorities of codecs to find the best one.
     
  5. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    apparently broadvoice only G711u, which isn't an option on the phone. the options in the phone are:

    GSM
    G.723.1
    G.729A/B
    PCMU
    PCMA
    G.726-32
    G.722 (WIDEBAND)
    iLBC
     
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    it is G711
     
  7. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    G.711u is exactly PCMU :)
    Anyway, even if Broadvoice supports only PCMU - it worth to try direct connection from Grandstream. If quality of direct call is better that thru PBX - let us know, and we could try to tweak your settings :)
     
  8. Costas3CX

    Costas3CX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    As SY and Archie already said before,
    G711u=PCMU and
    G711a=PCMA

    they are the same thing. Just a different name for them...
     
  9. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for your help.

    next question - i am looking for 3-4 lines (let's go with 4 for this case) and looking for a voip provider (New York) but want to use the same outbound caller ID for all calls. when i contacted broadvoice they had said i would need 4 lines. is there a provider that can handle 4 calls on one line, or perhaps use the same caller ID?

    thanks for all your help
     
  10. AndrewRTS

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey shuey...
    You might want to try Junction Networks:
    http://www.junctionnetworks.com

    I've been very impressed with them and the call quality has been spectacular. I have only set them up so far as outgoing, as I'm waiting on my regional DID numbers to port, but on outgoing it's perfect with 3CX.
     
  11. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info. should i be looking at the sip hosting?

    shuey
     
  12. AndrewRTS

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just signed up for the PSTN gateway. That was the closest to a traditional "phone line". I just received the authorization form to get my numbers ported. Yeah!

    Their support has been spectacular, and I had the outgoing calls working in about 3 minutes on 3CX.
     
  13. shuey227

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    echo cancellation

    i'm trying a variety of voip providers and every once in a while i seem to get choppy or an echo. how can i solve the choppy echo?

    thanks!
     
  14. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: echo cancellation

    If you hear yourself with delay then it is not related to 3CX PBX.

    Regards
     

Share This Page