• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

VPN between sites

Status
Not open for further replies.

simonchunk

Reaction score
I have been using 3CX for a few months and have great success, however we struggle with communication to our other site.

The current config that we use is:

Local LAN in our main site (A), all phones talk without issue.

Site (B) has a VPN to our internal LAN at (A). The extensions are simply routed to (B) like they are part of the LAN.

The issue we have is the call quality is choppy at times and constantly looses voice. If (B) calls (A), it won't connect on first go, but will on the second time. If (A) calls (B) it will connect everytime, but sound quality is low and drops out at random times.

What we are trying to acheive is simply communication between our employees, nothing more. I do not need to talk to external lines, etc, just office communication. We have decent DSL in both locations.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Have you tried running an extension, from the remote site, NOT over VPN as a test? Depending on what type of VPN you are using, it may be introducing enough latency to be noticeable. Whereas data can tolerate latency, or even dropped packets (as the can be re-sent), voice can , only up to a point, without it being noticed.

You may want to speak to whoever set-up/installed your network to see if there are issues to be corrected, or , at the very least, do some testing to pinpoint the cause. There may be a switch, or other hardware causing a bottleneck. In some cases, changing the Codec settings can help.

simonchunk said:
If (B) calls (A), it won't connect on first go, but will on the second time. If (A) calls (B) it will connect everytime, but sound quality is low and drops out at random times.