VPS Server Recommendations

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by altitude, Nov 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    We have just purchased a 3CX 8 sim call licence and set it up on an Amazon VPS and it is working great with the exception of the call quality. After some searching we found another person who had the same issue with an Amazon VPS.

    We obviously need to move to another VPS provider to gain the desired high call quality.

    Could anyone here give some recommendations/suggestions? We are wishing to keep the server costs reasonable.
     
  2. argenvoip

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello, I do not speak English, I use translator.
    that instance you use? I use AWS t2.micro 3cx 4SC, smooth audio. What is the audio problem? you cut? Poor quality?
    others are recommended OVH VPS
    3CX uses them to host their services and hosted 3cx webmeeting
    Greeting!!
     
  3. altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    At present we have it on a AWS t2.micro and audio quality is poor. I can PM you a number so you can here it if you wish.

    I'll have a look at OVH.
     
  4. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have many systems on AWS and have never had call quality issues at all.... What exactly are you experiencing?
    Which type of instance are you using?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. argenvoip

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Altitude, t2.micro only has 1 GB
    To 3cx 8SC, you need 2GB
    But what is the problem?
    1 call is poor?
    My 3cx installed in t2.micro, with 3 concurrent calls and WebRTC audio recording works well

    Saludos!!
     
  6. altitude

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks all for you replies.

    I have now got it working fine now. There were a few things overlooked during the setup that impacted the call quality including:

    - ensuring the codecs were set correctly between each SIP trunk and 3CX
    - choosing the SIP point closest to the 3CX server
    - ensuring the digital receptionist audio file was in the right .wav format (don't use Audacity as its incapable of saving the file correctly)
     
  7. 3cxBora

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone use 3cx cloud server in ESXi VM environment without any call quality or other issues?

    TIA for your input, and Happy New Year,
    Bora
     
  8. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    We deploy all our 3CX PBXs via our cluster processing 60,000 calls per day with no issues.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. 3cxBora

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dave, are you saying you are running on 3cx v14 Virtual Instances in ESXi Cluster with iSCSI SAN?
    What type of drives - 15K SAS, SATA or SSD? CPU are allocated?

    What is your spec because 3cx does provide much details?

    How do handle fail over?

    Thank you for feedback and sharing,
    Bora
     
  10. davidbenwell

    davidbenwell Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    We run each PBX on a Virtual Windows 2012 R2 Server

    4 x Servers in a HA / DRS Cluster

    Server Spec - Each Server in the cluster
    2 x Intel Xeon E5-2650 CPUs (shows as 32 Logical Processors per server
    128GB Ram

    Each server is connected to two Independent San Switches via two 10gbps feeds. Our QSan P600Q-D424 is then connected two each of the San Switches via 4 x 10Gbps Network Feeds. 2 per switch.

    each disk in the SAN is a 300GB 15K SAS disk

    By default, we allocate 1 vCPU core per server

    Each Server has a 1Gbps Network cable to the Internet Switch
    Each Server has a 1Gbps Vlan for Veeam Backups and Vcentre Heartbeat
    Each server has 2 x 10Gbps Network Cables going to two Independent Netgear 10Gbps Switches.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.