Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Webmeeting server location

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Maxime Croisetiere, Feb 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maxime Croisetiere

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am trying to use the WebMeeting option with my team but we have a poor video quality.

    I saw in the information of the webmeeting I am actually connected to the USA WestCoast server: USA West
    Coast (Seattle) - us008-sea.3cx.net (216.244.83.114) - CA Canada

    We are based in Montreal and our preferred server in our 3cx settings is set to the Montreal Server.

    How can I force the system to use Montreal server? Is it a problem on your side (server down for example)?

    Thank you very much,
     
  2. saqqara16

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    7
    On the front screen, click on WebMeeting MCU (right hand side) and you can select another server
     
  3. Maxime Croisetiere

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! I am not sure where is the MCU option you talk about on the right hand side?

    You can see the screenshot of what I see attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3cx.png
      3cx.png
      File size:
      36.1 KB
      Views:
      10
  4. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    202
    Option is within the 3CX admin console
     
  5. Maxime Croisetiere

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Saqqara, maybe I am not looking at the right place, but in the 3cx admin console, my MCU is already set to Montreal.

    Unfortunately, when I start a webmeeting, the selected server is Seatle. I don't understand why!
     

    Attached Files:

    • mcu.png
      mcu.png
      File size:
      47.8 KB
      Views:
      10
  6. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    118
    This is how it works. I hope this clears it up a bit and not make it more confusing.

    Part 1: The PBX, the MCU and you
    • Install your PBX somewhere in the world.
    • Your PBX's IP is then geolocated. Then assigned the geographically closest MCU to your PBX.

    Part 2: QuickMeeting
    • Each extension on your PBX has a meeting called "quickmeeting" by default.
    • This meeting will always use the MCU you set in your PBX's Conference Settings.

    Part 3: Other Meetings
    • When new meetings are created manually, they are created using whatever is MCU you set in your PBX's Conference Settings.
    • Alternatively, users can also specify during meeting creation, which MCU they want that specific meeting to take place on.
    • Once the meeting has been created, changing your default MCU that is set in your PBX's Conference Settings will NOT change what MCU already existing meetings use.
    • The setting in the PBX's Conference Settings is merely a default/suggested MCU on which all meeting creations are based on from the point you've selected some X MCU.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.