What trunk is the call coming in on?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by worcester1, Sep 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. worcester1

Hi All

I am new to 3CX and just got our demo system going - what i cant work out is if you have say 4 trunks for different departments etc - how do you detect which trunk an incoming call is coming in on?

Be really interested to know any suggestions

Many Thanks
    Richard

2. jpillow

jpillow Well-Known Member

Are you using analog trunks or SIP trunks? The reason I ask is you dont really specify if this is with a VoIP gatewy utilizing analog lines or SIP trunks. Sounds like analog though I dont want to assume, however you can look at the ports and trunks tab when teh call is coming in and determine what trunk the call is coming in on and point that call where you want it to go. ring group, digital receptionist etc....

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. worcester1

Hi - and thanks for the reply

I am intending to use 3 sip trunks with 3 separate numbers.
    But one number is for a sub company - so we wish to answer in a different name.

Hope that makes sense- any suggestions would be great.

Best
    Richard

4. leejor

leejor Well-Known Member

As long as your VoIP provider sends the called number in the SIP header, then you should be able to set it up as you would DID's.

You then have to decide how you want people to identify the calls. You could send them to specific extensions (keys on a set), or they could pass through a ring group or queue and pick up a name as a prefix to the name/number.

5. tonyb