WIndows Firewal.....Block or uinblock?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by tnticesp, Feb 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tnticesp

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have today installed a 3cx softphone on my PC (Windows Vista). However on my first call I got this message from the Windows Firewall (I have translated it from the Spanish). What do you advise I do with it please?

    Windows Firewall blocked some characteristics of this program. Windows Firewall prevented this program accepting connections to other networks. If you unblock this program you will also unblock other public networks from connecting.

    Do I keep the block I do I unblock?

    Terry
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    225
    I suppose it's up to you. If the 3CX phone won't function unless you unblock the firewall, and you don't want to unblock, then you don't get to use 3CX phone.
    If you are concerned then you may want to investigate other, perhaps more flexible, firewall /anti virus solutions for your PC. You are using an operating system that has since been replaced and there might be a better solution.
     
  3. gabdantas

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just as idea...
    Have you tried to manualy add a firewall exception/rule to allow 3CXPhone.exe?
     
  4. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually always disable windows firewall, I always run 3cx on a standalone machine with AVG. If the machine gets hacked goes down etc... doesnt really matter as I always have a backup file and can simply restore on another machine. Is there any particular reason why you are hesitant to turn off the windows firewall?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mylove4life

    mylove4life New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here... I do all updates with they comeout tho... Windows and 3cx updates..

     
  6. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the server auto update once a week and simply use a log me in account to remote in and do all 3cx updates. I've had no hacking issues at all though I had a machine go out once and simply restored the back up config to a temp machine until the other was restored.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.