X-Lite works, 3CX = no rtp

Discussion in 'Windows' started by brianjg, Oct 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brianjg

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a 3CX (v10) installed on a server 2008 R2 machine (firewall disabled). All our desk phones work fine (spa9XX) and any machine running X-Lite (or even ekiga) are able to make/receive calls.

    But any of our windows 7 machines which try to use the latest 3cx softphone all report no audio. The logs on the server who no RTP packets were received. I've tried disable all the client machine firewalls but it makes no difference. There is no NATing between the clients and the server. As I said pretty much any other softphone works fine.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,573
    Likes Received:
    247
    No audio in both directions, or just one direction? Which one?
     
  3. brianjg

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    no audio in either direction.
     
  4. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just make sure you filled in your local IP address of the 3CX server in 3CX phone settings and you are using 'In the office' settings. No other reason for not working -- I suppose no special settings exist in your network (like multiple LANs, gateways, etc.).

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. brianjg

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah the phones registers and rings (can make calls out, etc) but just no audio.

    Nothing special on the LAN. small office with 5 desks.
     
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    3CX phone has "debug" console. It should provide small piece of additional information...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. brianjg

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've enabled verbos logging but all I seem to see of relevance is no rtp packets being receive.

    we can still working away for the time being so its not urgent. will let you know if I find anything.
     
  8. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm talking about 3CX Phone. It has "debug window" which shows some additional information about phone initialization and call flow.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. 4dsupport

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I am not sure if this is exactly relevant to your issue since you mention that X-Lite works and 3CXPhone doesn't (I am not sure if you have both X-Lite and 3CXPhone on the same Windows 7 computers when you tested) but I thought I'd mention:

    I had the same issue recently when I upgraded from 32 to 64 bit Windows 7. The server activity log had the entries:
    [MS105000] C:39.1: No RTP packets were received:remoteAddr=x.x.x.x:9028,extAddr=0.0.0.0:0,localAddr=y.y.y.y:7158
    when testing from the 3CXPhone. Zoiper did the same.

    I tested from a Yealink SIP-T22P and two way communication was fine.

    Audio playback was fine for all other applications on my computer. The debug window noted a mic not detected - I didn't note the exact error but it was something along those lines. I was testing with a mobile phone dialling in so wasn't to worried about not having a mic and in the preferences section the microphone was listed as "Primary Sound Capture Driver".

    Turns out my problem was the audio driver wasn't installed. Windows 7 installs an generic audio driver, so you will get audio playback for desktop applications but not soft phone calls. You get dial tone played back, DTMF tones and ringing but that's it. The call dials out and connects correctly but no two way audio.

    Hope this helps.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.