3CX V20 version and I don't see the presentation of newly created users in my team

Milos

Customer
Joined
Nov 17, 2017
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
I have the 3CX V20 version and I don't see the presentation of newly created users in my team. In the admin interface I see it as registered, i.e. green, it can receive and make calls. When I'm in the admin interface, in the user editing, I see that it is set up correctly. I compared it with previously created users, the settings for the given group - department are exactly the same, identical. However, when I switch to the Team interface (or in the 3CX mobile application), the user is not there (even when he has a call). I am logged in as the "system owner", I can see the others. I only see the problem in the case of newly created users, whether new or by copying from an existing account. I switched to V20 in December and in this new version of V20 I have already created new users. Since I don't often create new users (I mostly use already created accounts), I only registered this problem today.

Version 20.0 Update 5 (Build 551 Release)
 
Do you and the person have notifications enabled in the web browser? (bell icon, upper left)
 
To clarify this better. I have been using 3CX in production since 2017. I have about 55 active users in different departments. We only use the mobile app to check presence. Users do not have access to the web interface and also only use the mobile app, so they do not have anything to configure there, they just scan the QR during installation.

I normally created new users by copying an existing user in a given department so that the settings are preserved.

I definitely created a new user like this in February, which we see in the team among others in the mobile app.

We have never changed anything or the users with the doorbell.

Today I first created a new user by copying from an existing one and when this user registered in his mobile app, the department manager did not see him in the team in his app. As an admin, I saw him through the admin interface. The user could call, everything worked for him. Then I tried to create a new user from scratch, just set everything exactly according to the department, identical settings and tried to activate on my test phone. I registered, but I didn't see it in my app on my phone where I have an admin user. Then I tried to create another one like this. We don't see it in the team either. in the mobile app.

I don't understand what happened, or could have happened. thanks for the help, or tip on how to fix it.
 
There is an option to hide a user - maybe it was set to the "root" user from which you make your copies?
(Edit user - Options - Restrictions - Hide User: I would try to activate / save / deactivate / save, maybe this is somewhere buried as default in your system?)
 
Last edited:
There is an option to hide a user - maybe it was set to the "root" user from which you make your copies?
(Edit user - Options - Restrictions - Hide User: I would try to activate / save / deactivate / save, maybe this is somewhere buried as default in your system?)
Yes, you are right. It was because of what you wrote. :)

>>Edit user - Options - Restrictions - Hide User: I would try to activate / save / deactivate / save <<

When I created a new user and deactivated this option, we can already see him. He is visible in the team.

It does not matter whether you copy users according to the department settings or create a new user, if you want to see him in the team, this option must be deactivated.

Interestingly, all the users I have created have this option activated. That is why it confused me because I copied them exactly according to the settings of the existing department user, where this option was activated / checked.

A user that is newly created from an existing user by copying, or created from scratch, must have this option deactivated in order to be seen in the team.
The last time I created users was in February and they have the settings that this option is checked, but they are visible in the team.

This has obviously changed in the update to the current version, where this option must be deactivated if you want to see the user in the team.

Thank you all very much for your help. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: GMark and GregG_3CX
You're welcome! Glad I could help!
 
Unfortunately, I have to come back to this issue again and I would call it a bug.
Because.

As I already wrote, newly created users are not visible in the team of a certain department for the manager, even though according to the settings of the given department they should be, that is, as it was until the last update.

Users in a given department should not be visible to other users in the team, only the manager should be able to see them, according to the department settings, where only the Show my calls option is checked. The manager has more options and sees them. That is, he sees everyone who was created before the last update.

Now the manager does not see newly created users (he still sees those who were created before) and will see them only if the Hide user option is deactivated in the settings of the given user.

Previously, this was not the case, the Hide user option meant that he was hidden from the corporate phone book.

So when this Hide user option is deactivated, the manager can see him in the team, but the user will also appear in the company phone book for ALL users in ALL departments. Which is of course bad.

So, in order for unauthorized persons not to see detailed information about a user they should know nothing about, the Hide user option must be activated, as I have had since 2017.
But we are going back again, since the manager does not see him in his team.

Something must have changed with the update and I consider it a mistake. Maybe there is another guide somewhere on how to solve it.
 
May I suggest to check
  • user settings (view)
  • department options (like Presence - Publish department information to all extensions)
  • do all users share the DEFAULT department? (if not required, try to limit them to their designated department)
 
I have users divided into different departments. Each department has its own settings.
A regular user only has Show my calls activated in the department settings, so that he can be seen in the team. Only the manager has all the options activated for a given department, so only he can see everyone in the team, that is, in a given department. Users of a given team do not see anyone in the team. That is the goal.

Users between different departments do not see each other. I have that set up well. That is how it works at the moment for all departments and users that were created before February (I am sure that until the last update).

Just when I create a new user at this moment who has identical settings as his colleagues in a given department, even the manager does not see his presence in the team. which is bad.

If I deactivate Hide user for a given user, the manager in the given department in the team can see him, the rest of the team cannot see him, they cannot see him in other departments, but this user is visible in the company phone book as a contact, along with all his personal information (email, phone, name, etc.) which is unacceptable.

So at the moment the manager cannot see and cannot control newly added users in the team. Only newly added users created in this version of 3CX. I think this is a bug.
 

Latest Posts

Forum statistics

Threads
111,963
Messages
589,998
Members
164,868
Latest member
swegner