Phones listed twice in Server Manager -> Phones

Status
Not open for further replies.

jholcombe

Forum User
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
76
Reaction score
1
3CX Server Manager is showing my phones listed twice. This just started today. We had a power outage yesterday and some (not all) of the phones lost power. The 3CX server is backed up by UPS and generator though. It didn't lose power.

The phones are listed twice. At the top as a new phone (1) in bold, and then at the bottom with the name and extension (2). So it's acting like it's seeing the existing phones as new phones. Has anyone else experienced this? Does anyone know a solution?

Thank you!,

--John
 
Hi jholcombe,

did you try to restart the 3cx server or the 3cx service?
Or you could try to "reject" the not active phones. But test this with some not-critical phones, the active phones might be effected.

Does the phones show with the same IP, account, phone model ....?

If the issue persists, than the cause might be, that the phone reprovisioned themselves during reboot. The default setting for most phones is to reprovision during power on. Do you have the same issue if you manually tell the phones to reprovision (e.g. via phone web interface). You can have a look at the config of the phones having the issue (export config via webinteface) and compare it with the phones not having the issue.

best regards Frank
 
Thank you Frank,

It looks like the phones are listed twice, but with different IP addresses (same MAC address, different IP). They boot up on the data VLAN where they are passed the voice VLAN via DHCP (option 132). Then they get the provision URL from the voice VLAN DHCP (option 66). It looks like perhaps the phones provisioned themselves using the data VLAN instead of the going to the voice VLAN before they try to provision...
 
The bold entries are plug and play entries which the phone sends out during its boot-up. 3CX will normally clear them once the phone registers on the LAN. Seeing as they change IPs after the initial PNP I guess 3CX doesn't match them up and remove them.

The PNP entries won't hurt anything they just make it easier to configure new phones. Since in your case they have moved IPs after PNP they are mostly useless.

You could edit the template and turn plug and play off on the phones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest Posts

Members Online Now

Forum statistics

Threads
111,844
Messages
589,330
Members
164,680
Latest member
JV J